Using University Archives and Special Collections
Access to University Archives and Special Collections is governed by the University Archives and Special Collections Access Policy.
Guidelines
Arriving at UASC Research Room
- All researchers must complete the Patron Registration Form.
- Only one researcher is permitted at a time in the UASC Research Room due to physical space constraints.
- Researchers will be asked to wash their hands thoroughly after arriving and anytime necessary during their visit. While the library has hand sanitizer available, researchers using UASC must rinse or wash hands after using hand sanitizer and before handling collection materials to ensure that no sanitizer residue is transferred to the materials as it may damage them. Hand sanitizer is not permitted in the UASC Research Room.
- No food or drink (including water bottles, gum, etc.) are permitted.
- Coat racks are provided for backpacks, handbags and computer cases as well as coats and hats. These items are not allowed in the viewing area. All personal effects are subject to inspection prior to and following patrons viewing materials.
Conducting Research
- Materials must be used in the Research Room and they do not circulate.
- Use of these materials will be under the direct monitoring of the designated UASC staff member.
- Researchers are permitted to request up to 3 boxes at a time. Materials will be ready on a cart for your research visit. Only one box may be on the research table at one time and only one folder may be viewed at a time. All materials should be viewed flat on the table.
- Patrons should use acid-free slips provided by UASC (Post-it notes and bookmarks are not permitted.)
- Patrons must use pencils and loose paper only while working with materials.
- Materials may not be leaned on, written on, folded, traced, or handled in any way likely to damage them.
- In most cases, researchers may handle collection materials with clean, bare hands. Patrons may be required to wear gloves while viewing certain materials (e.g. photographs, textiles, metal objects).
- Bound volumes should be supported by a book cradle unless otherwise instructed. UASC will assist in setting up the cradles and help with handling as necessary.
- The exact order of unbound material in folders and boxes must be preserved. Materials should be returned to the folders and boxes they were removed from in the order they were found. UASC provides out cards so that researchers can mark where folders have been removed.
- Access to unprocessed collections or unprocessed portions of partially processed collections will be at the discretion of University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian.
Reproducing Materials
- Researchers are permitted to use a digital camera or other image/video capture devices, without flash, for research purposes at no additional charge. UASC reserves the right to deny permission to photograph or copy items as appropriate. Note: Permission to capture images for research purposes does not constitute permission to distribute or publish these images. See Camera Use Guidelines for specific instructions.
- Photocopying/scanning of materials will be done only at the discretion of the UASC staff member. Fragile materials will not be reproduced. Patrons are liable for any copyright infringement where applicable. All photocopying/scanning is to be done by a UASC staff member.
- Reproduction requests must be submitted through the Reproduce Materials Request Form
The library reserves the right to deny access to these materials or to modify these guidelines as needed due to the condition of materials or to the availability of UASC staff. If researchers are feeling unwell, they are asked to cancel or reschedule their appointment.
