Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Map

Archives and Special Collections at Xavier University: Welcome

Guide to University Archives and Special Collections at Xavier University (Cincinnati, Ohio)

University Archives and Special Collections is closed for in-person research appointments until December 2020.

While access to in-person research is closed, please visit our Research Guide and digital collections. 


University Archives collects and preserves the records of Xavier University and its associated faculty, staff, and students. These materials reflect the rich educational, historical, religious, and cultural heritage of Xavier University. This guide serves as an introduction to the archival collections held by Xavier University Archives. It provides an overview of collections, tips for finding materials, and information on how to access them.

Special Collections contains an array of rare books and manuscripts covering subjects such as theology, philosophy, classics, biology, and history. Strengths of collection include Jesuitica, Catholic liturgy and life in America, travel and exploration, and bibles. The earliest work is a 13th century manuscript bible. Other valuable items include Jacobus de Voragine's Legenda Aurea, Ferdinand Verbiest's Liber organicus astronomiæ apud sinas restitutæ, and a 15th century handwritten Spanish antiphonary. This guide demonstrates how to locate and use materials in Special Collections.

To help with our Mission, donations are key to the future of University Archives and Special Collections. To learn more about donating materials to University Archives and Special Collections, please see our guidelines.

Schmidt Fieldhouse, Xavier University Photograph Collection, Xavier University Archives and Special Collections

Contact University Archives and Special Collections

Anne Ryckbost's picture
Anne Ryckbost
Contact:
309 McDonald Library
3800 Victory Parkway
Cincinnati OH 45207
513-745-4821