Special Collections strives to advance academic success, nurture intellectual exploration, promote community engagement, and encourage innovation and creativity through the acquisition, preservation, and use of rare books, manuscripts, and other materials. It is guided by the ideas that Special Collections enables the Xavier University community to examine and analyze the past and inspires scholarly and creative achievement.
Special Collections collects, arranges, describes, preserves, and provides access to selected rare books and manuscripts that reflect the broad intellectual interests and work of the faculty, staff, and students of the University in support of the University’s teaching, research, and service goals.
The Special Collections Collection Development Policy establishes criteria and procedures to govern the acquisition of materials in support of the vision and mission of Special Collections, Xavier University.
Special Collections consists of rare books and manuscripts on many subjects that have been acquired over the years through donations and purchases. The diversity of its holdings reflects the Jesuit heritage of the University and the broad research interests of its faculty and students. The majority of Special Collections’ holdings are in Latin and English. French, Spanish, German, Greek, Italian, and other languages are also represented. Materials date from the 13th century forward. Special Collections contains a surviving portion of the original St. Xavier College library, incunabula (books printed before 1501 CE), and works related to the Society of Jesus. Areas of collection strength include:
Scholarly works published by Xavier faculty, student or alumni that do not relate to university history or activities are maintained in the library’s faculty publications collection. This may include works published by the university. Examples include scholarly monographs, collections of literary works, or art displays. Additional copies of faculty publications may also be added to the faculty publications collection in the Conaton Board Room.
Works published by Xavier faculty, students, or alumni related to university history or activities are kept in University Archives. This may include works not published by the university. Additional copies of faculty publications may also be added to the faculty publications collection in the Conaton Board Room and the library’s faculty publications collection.
Donations of materials that enhance Special Collections’ ability to meet the instructional and research needs of the Xavier University community and fall within the scope of this collection policy are welcomed. Special Collections has benefited greatly from past generous donations and future gifts will strengthen this important research collection.
The University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian reviews all donation offers in light of the Collection Development Policy with careful evaluation to ensure the gift is consistent with donation guidelines. Due to limited resources, gifts are accepted with the understanding that Special Collections may deaccession items not needed or that falls outside of the Collection Development Policy scope.
Please contact the University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian prior to delivering or sending any potential donation and with any questions you may have about the donation process.
Special Collections adheres to the provisions and implications of current U.S. tax regulations. Donors are encouraged to consult their tax advisors if using the gift as a tax donation. An appraisal of a gift to Special Collections is the responsibility and expense of the donor. In adherence with professional best practices, and to protect its donors and itself, Special Collections will not appraise gifts. Special Collections will provide an official acknowledgement letter for gifts.
You may find it helpful to consult Your Old Books, a guide published by the Rare Books and Manuscripts Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries or "Getting Rare Books Appraised: What to Know" by Book Riot's Isabelle Popp.
While donations are preferred, Special Collections also acquires unique materials that become available only through purchase with fund support from the Sesquicentennial Endowment for Library Additions. The endowment recognizes that, "Except for the faculty, the library is Xavier's most valuable educational resources." The endowment provides support to enhance our collections in support of faculty, student, staff, and community scholarship. An advisory group meets as needed to review identified needs and items available for potential purchase using the criteria outlined in this policy and make recommendations to the University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian. Items of interest for donation or purchase include Jesuitica, Book of Hours, early editions of The Three Musketeers, and religious works from other faith traditions.