University Archives and Special Collections at Xavier

Transferring Records to University Archives

Why Transfer Your Records?

All records created in the course of official business and management of programs at Xavier University are property of the university. Transferring records to University Archives complies with the Xavier University Records Management Policy and the University Archives Collecting Policy

University Archives is the official repository for records of enduring value of Xavier University and serves as its institutional memory. As such, it identifies, acquires, maintains, preserves, and makes accessible records of enduring value that document the development of Xavier University since its founding in 1831 in support of the university’s administrative, teaching, research, and service goals.

What Records Should You Transfer?

Transfer records identified in the Records Retention Schedule as “Permanent – Transfer to University Archives” after the retention period in the originating office has ended. In general, this includes records (physical and electronic) that document the university’s activities, functions, decisions, policies, and programs such as:

• Constitutions and by-laws, minutes, and reports of boards, committees, task forces, or divisions
• Correspondence documenting major decisions, actions, and events from key offices/administrators
• Academic program materials
• Policies and policy development files
• Accreditation materials
• Summary of financial records
• Publications (including publicity materials)
• Photographs and audio visual materials
• Records of official events (conferences, commencements, etc.)

Individuals such as faculty, alumni, and students interested in donating materials produced outside of the course of official University business should contact the University Archivist to discuss a donation.

What Records Should You Not Transfer?

University Archives will not accept the following types of materials, and will return these to the transferring office:

• Active records: while records are needed for use and consultation, the records are to remain in the originating office.
• Records identified in the Records Retention Schedule as "Destroy."
• Personnel records
• Student records
• Multiple copies
• Blank forms, templates, and labels
• Worksheets, drafts, to-do lists, reminders, and other temporary records
• Non-university records: personal materials or materials created by external organizations are generally not collected (example: admission brochures from other universities collected and saved by Enrollment Management for research purposes).
• Large artifacts and memorabilia: University Archives generally does not accept three-dimensional objects such as trophies and plaques due to space constraints. Images of such objects may be substituted on a case-by-case basis. Contact the University Archivist regarding memorabilia questions.

How to Access Your Records After Transfer

Once records arrive in University Archives, University Archives staff facilitates access in accordance with the University Archives and Special Collections Access Policy. Materials do not circulate and must be viewed in the Archives Research Room by appointment. Contact the University Archivist to arrange an appointment.

Published university records are open to any member of the Xavier community or external researchers. Examples of published materials include rare books, yearbooks, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, brochures, public web sites, and more.

Unpublished university records created more than 40 years ago may be used by any internal office, or by external researchers, with the permission of the University Archivist or the creating office (or the creating office’s divisional leader), unless specifically restricted. Items created within the last 40 years may be used only with the permission of the creating office (or the creating office’s divisional leader). Researchers requesting permission to restricted materials should contact the University Archivist to facilitate access. Examples of unpublished records include meeting minutes, correspondence, memoranda, reports, and more.