Publications, essays, and chronologies on various topics of Xavier University's history can be found at https://www.exhibit.xavier.edu/ebooks/
The Office of Institutional Research creates and maintains reports and statistics about the university and its enrollment.
Center for Mission and Identity
The Center for Mission and Identity's website contains rich information about the university's mission, vision, and values.
Visit the Center for Mission and Identity's campus buildings, statues, and shrines.
Because of their close association with Xavier and the Jesuit community, some records about Xavier University are held at other institutions. St. Xavier High School, for instance, has records from the early period of our history when we were managed as one institution. From 1831-1840, Xavier University was named the Athenaeum and from 1840-1930 it was named St. Xavier College. Records about Xavier University may be found by searching all three names (Athenaeum, St. Xavier College, Xavier University).
Archdiocese of Cincinnati Archives
Address: 25 E. 8th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Telephone: 513-421-3131 ext.3002
The Archdiocese of Cincinnati Archives has digitized the Catholic Telegraph, which began publication in 1831 and includes many stories about Xavier. Access is free through The Catholic News Archive and through the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County's Digital Library.
Address: 4511 West Pine Boulevard, St. Louis, MO, 63108
Telephone: 314-361-7765
Contact: Nick Kemper
Address: 600 W. North Bend Road, Cincinnati, Ohio 45224
Telephone: 513-761-7600
Visit St. Xavier High School's website for short essays on topics related to the high school and university.
Digital Public Library of America
Search for Xavier University (Cincinnati, Ohio) to find images of campus.
The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County Digital Collections
These digital collections include city directories, postcards, maps, and more. Search using the terms Athenaeum, St. Xavier College, Xavier University, Our Lady of Cincinnati College, or Edgecliff College.
In the 19th century, city directories often contained advertisements or illustrations of St. Xavier College. To see physical copies, schedule an appointment with University Archives and Special Collections. Digital copies are available through the public library.
This digital collection of historical maps from the University of Cincinnati trace development of Cincinnati's built environment.
Margaret DePalma. “Religion in the Classroom: The Great Bible Wars in Nineteenth Century Cincinnati” Ohio Valley History 3, no. 3 (2015): 17–36.
Stephen J. Diner. Universities and their cities : urban higher education in America. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2017.
John B. Purcell. The Vickers and Purcell controversy : respectfully presented to all the lovers of truth. Cincinnati, Ohio: Benziger Brothers, 1868.
Crossings and Dwellings: Restored Jesuits, Women Religious, American Experience, 1814-2014. Edited by Kyle B. Roberts and Stephen Schloesser, J.S. Boston: Brill, 2017.
Schmidt, Kelly L. “‘Without Slaves and without Assassins’: Antebellum Cincinnati, Transnational Jesuits, and the Challenges of Race and Slavery.” U.S. Catholic Historian, vol. 39, no. 2, May 2021, pp. 1–26. https://xavier.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edspmu&AN=edspmu.S1947822421200031&site=eds-live&scope=site
Schmidt, Kelly L. “Enslaved Faith Communities in the Jesuits’ Missouri Mission.” U.S. Catholic Historian, vol. 37, no. 2, May 2019, pp. 49–81. https://xavier.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edspmu&AN=edspmu.S1947822419200002&site=eds-live&scope=site
Ellen Skerrett. "Recovering the Stories of "Our" Since 1823: The Missouri Province Legacy." 2023. https://www.jesuitscentralsouthern.org/about-us/history/missouri-province-legacy/
John B. Wuest. Materials for a History of St. John the Baptist Province, II: The Letters of Five Tyrolese Friars in America. Trans. by Aldric Heidlage and Patrick McCloskey. Cincinnati, Ohio: St. Clement Friary, July 15, 1984. McDonald Library 3rd floor BX3650.S262 M37 1983.
These letters, written by Franciscans in the 19th century, describe interactions with members of the Society of Jesus and St. Xavier College, from the the perspective of the friars.