Using Cameras in the Research Room
Researchers may take photographs of collection materials in University Archives and Special Collections (UASC). UASC staff reserves the right to restrict or prohibit photography when it may cause physical harm to the materials; violates donor or repository access restrictions; disrupts other researchers; or if items have already been digitized. All researchers who use digital cameras to photograph UASC materials must handle materials in accordance with the UASC Patron Use Guidelines as well as adhere to the following conditions:
General Guidelines
- Hand-held cameras, cell phones, and tablets are permitted.
- Scanners, camera bags, flash, tripods, lighting equipment, video cameras, copy stands, and laptop cameras are not permitted.
- Cameras and cell phones must be set to mute to avoid disrupting others.
- Researchers must keep track of all photographs and record of box, folder and item identifications in order to request high-resolution images and track photograph context. To request high-resolution images, use the Reproduction Request form.
- No photographs of UASC staff or other researchers may be taken.
Handling Materials While Photographing
- All bound materials must remain on the research table in provided supports and cradles. UASC staff will assist with cradle set-up and will provide book weights.
- Researchers must not attempt to press down on or flatten volumes in order to get a better image. UASC staff will assist in positioning items.
- All unbound loose material must remain flat on the reading table in its folder. The material must remain in the exact order in which it is found.
- Do not remove items from sleeves or enclosures.
- Do not remove any fasteners. Ask for assistance.
- Large items may need extra table space or supports. Before opening or unfolding any item, notify UASC staff for assistance.
- Researchers may not stand on tables or chairs. Materials must not be placed on the ground.
Permission to Use
- Researchers intending to use reproductions of University Archives and Special Collections collection items assume sole risk in doing so. Responsibility for observance of copyright and other publication rights, including literary rights, as governed by the copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) and other applicable laws, rests with the researcher and not with University Archives and Special Collections, Xavier University Library. The researcher shall indemnify and hold harmless University Archives and Special Collections, Xavier University Library against any and all claims incurred by copyright infringement or any other legal or regulatory cause of action that arises from the use of University Archives and Special Collections, Xavier University Library materials.
- Researchers are responsible for determining if the material is in the public domain or whether their intended use of the images is within the limits of fair use.
- In some cases, Xavier University can claim only physical ownership of collection materials. University Archives and Special Collections, Xavier University Library does not grant written permission for any type of use of reproductions taken by researchers unless it holds copyright to it.
- Photographs may not be transferred to any other institution or collection.
- Please cite all materials according to their recommended citation [Item identification, Box number (if applicable), Folder number (if applicable), Collection ID or Call number (if applicable), Collection Name (if applicable), University Archives and Special Collections, Xavier University Library, Cincinnati, Ohio.]
