University Archives and Special Collections at Xavier

How to Donate

Donations of materials that enhance University Archives and Special Collections’ ability to meet the instructional and research needs of the Xavier University community and fall within the scope of this collection policy are welcomed. University Archives and Special Collections has benefited greatly from past generous donations and future gifts will strengthen this important research collection. Materials donated to UASC from non-University sources require a Deed of Gift or a will that transfers unrestricted ownership rights to University archives.

The University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian reviews all donation offers in light of the Collection Development Policies with careful evaluation to ensure the gift is consistent with donation guidelines. Due to limited resources, gifts are accepted with the understanding that University Archives and Special Collections may deaccession items not needed or that falls outside of the Collection Development Policy scope.

Please contact the University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian prior to delivering or sending any potential donation and with any questions you may have about the donation process.

Donation Guidelines

• Materials must be relevant to the University’s mission, curriculum, and teaching, service, and research interests.
• Materials in a variety of formats are acquired as is appropriate but priority is given to printed books and manuscripts.
• Materials must be in good condition (e.g. intact binding, no active or past mold damage).
• Materials must usually be original material. Photocopies and facsimiles of originals will not be accepted except under special circumstances.
• The donation of materials created by Xavier University or relating to its students, faculty, or alumni falls under the scope of the University Archives Collection Policy.

University Archives and Special Collections adheres to the provisions and implications of current U.S. tax regulations. Donors are encouraged to consult their tax advisors if using the gift as a tax donation. An appraisal of a gift to University Archives and Special Collections is the responsibility and expense of the donor. In adherence with professional best practices, and to protect its donors and itself, University Archives and Special Collections will not appraise gifts. We will provide an official acknowledgement letter for gifts.