University Archives and Special Collections at Xavier

Search University Archives

Search University Archives collection guides (Finding Aids)

These guides (also called finding aids) describe the creation, context, and content of university record collections.

Collection guides are also available through ArchiveGrid.

University Archives Collections Overview

Listed below are the types of records you can expect to find in University Archives:

University Records

• College and departmental records (e.g. Department of Theology)
• Administrative records (e.g. Board of Undergraduate Studies minutes, President's annual reports)
• Athletics records (e.g. Athletic Advisory Board)
• Marketing and Communications materials (e.g. Xavier Magazine Records)
• Photographs and scrapbooks (e.g. Photographic Negatives)
• Artifacts/Memorabilia

University Publications

• Yearbooks
• Course Catalogs
• Student Newspapers
• Newsletters
• Magazines
• Official Histories

University Faculty/Staff Papers

• Correspondence
• Conference papers
• Course notes
• Research files
• Manuscripts
• Artifacts/Memorabilia

Student Life

• Student government records (minutes, flyers)
• Event posters
• Student organizations records (e.g. Poland Philopedian Debating Society records)
• Scrapbooks (e.g. James Sweeney Student Papers)
• Photographs
• Artifacts/Memorabilia
• Transcripts and official student records are kept by the Office of the Registrar, not University Archives.

University Alum Papers

• Correspondence
• Diplomas and certificates
• Scrapbooks
• Photographs
• Artifacts/Memorabilia