Tips for Archives Research Success
Are you new to working with primary sources? Not sure how to handle University Archives and Special Collections (UASC) rare materials or the process for using them? Use these handy tips to guide your research and help us preserve Xavier's rare materials for the future.
Archival research takes time, sometimes more time than you had originally planned. To get started, do background research using secondary sources to have basic information ready and to help you form your research question. Use Xplore, the library catalog, or UASC at Xavier ArchivesSpace to identify collections or books of interest to your research topic. When you set up your appointment, let UASC staff know which collections you would like to use by completing the online registration form.
- Plan ahead. University Archives and Special Collections is open by appointment only during regular university business hours. All research is performed in the UASC Research Room. Materials cannot be checked out (they are non-circulating). Archival research may require more than one visit. In addition, reproduction of materials (e.g. photocopying or scanning) is done by archives staff and will take additional time. University Archives and Special Collections permits computers, and under certain circumstances, digital photography.
- Work slowly. Turn pages slowly, one at a time. Touch the blank areas of a page. Keep an eye out for tears, detached pages, and broken bindings on bound volumes like ledgers. Scrapbooks, for instance, require extra care. Turn pages with two hands, noting where scrapbook pages have components that may be loose.
- Use supports. Bound volumes like financial ledgers may need the extra support of book cradles. Archives staff will provide cradles.
- To keep pages in bound volumes flat, use book weights. UASC staff will provide you with lightweight book snakes, weighted book marks, to hold down pages.
- Use one folder at a time. Keep folders in boxes when not in use. Use the provided paper flag to mark the spot in the box where you removed the folder from.
- Keep flat items flat on the table. Once you've removed a folder, keep that folder supported on the research table at all times. Keep all items in the folder to maintain their sequence. Use a provided paper flag to mark your spot in case you need to refer back to something.
- Use gloves for handling photographs and metal objects, not for paper or books. Use provided gloves for looking at photographic collections. If you come across a photograph in a folder, ask for gloves. Otherwise, bare, clean hands are best for books and paper.
- Watch where you write. When taking notes, make sure your notepad is not on top of the collection materials. The extra weight causes stress on the materials. Use pencils when writing.
- Keep cords and laptops off of collection materials. Cords can inadvertently damage collection materials. Use your laptop off to the side of the materials
- Eat before you visit. Water bottles, drinks, and food are not allowed in UASC. If you need something, take a break, thoroughly wash your hands, then return.
- Keep track of which collection, box, and folder you are working in.There are hundreds of collections and thousands of boxes in UASC. To make your research more efficient and to refer to materials in the future, keep careful notes as to where you are in a collection.
Guide inspired by Harvard University's Digital Learning & UX.
