The second of 12 children, John Boehner was raised in a large Catholic family in Reading, Ohio and graduated from Moeller High School. He attended Xavier University part time while also working to cover tuition, graduating in 1977. He then worked for Nucite Sales, growing the company and eventually becoming its president until he was elected to Congress. John Boehner served as the United States Representative from Ohio’s 8th District from 1991-2015 and Speaker of the House of Representatives from 2011-2015.
John Boehner at the speaker's rostrum on the opening day of the 110th Congress, January 4, 2007
Photograph from Box 32, MS-009 John Boehner Papers, University Archives and Special Collections, Xavier University Library
In 2016, John Boehner donated his congressional papers to University Archives and Special Collections in the University Library at Xavier. The papers contain administrative, legislative, press, and campaign records of Speaker Boehner and his office, primarily from 1989-2015. Major topics covered in the papers include the House Bank Scandal (1992), the Contract with America (1994), education reform and No Child Left Behind Act (signed into law January 8, 2002), and the Pension Funding Equity Act of 2004. The Boehner Papers give students and scholars the opportunity to study, understand, and learn from Speaker Boehner's experiences in Congress and his record of bipartisan leadership in the House.
The collection is processed and open to researchers by appointment. Researchers can learn about the papers through the collection guide. To schedule your visit, please complete the online researcher registration form.
John Boehner views former President Gerald R. Ford lying in state in the U.S. Capital Rotunda, December 30, 2006.
In his memoir On the House, Speaker Boehner describes his close connection with President Ford.
Photograph from MS-009 John Boehner Papers, University Archives and Special Collections, Xavier University Library
University Archives and Special Collections welcomes opportunities for classroom instruction. In-class sessions offer immersive learning experiences for students by engaging them with primary sources in a facilitated environment.
Instructors should request single–session classes at least two weeks in advance of the session date. For multi–session classes, reservations must be made prior to the start of the academic term. Please review the instructions and use the reservation form to submit your request. All reservation requests will be treated on a first-come, first-serve basis and confirmations will be emailed. UASC staff meets with each instructor to discuss session learning objectives and instructional strategies.
High impact experiences coordinated by Xavier's Office of Government Relations
Xavier University, with support from generous contributions, has offered over 20 undergraduates stipends to work in Washington, DC, the Ohio Statehouse, or regionally in high-impact internships.
21 Xavier University undergraduates participated in the 2020 Presidential primary, attending rallies, town halls, and meeting with presidential candidates over the MLK holiday weekend.
Under the direction of Dr. Mack Mariani, two student-led research projects explored the Cincinnati City Council Dataset, and Exploring Ohio’s Role in the State Legislative Reapportionment Revolution.
Led by Dr. David Gerberry, Data Science Honor’s students assisted a PPP (Philosophy, Politics, and the Public) student working on local political campaigns as data analysts. This was a semester long pilot that occurs annually thanks to the initial research grant.
More information is available through the University's John Boehner Papers website.