How to Transfer Your Physical Records
1. Review the Xavier University Records Retention Policy, Records Retention Schedule, and the University Archives Collecting Policy.
2. Contact the University Archivist to discuss your materials and the details of your transfer. This consultation is critical, as it is important for us to allocate sufficient storage space (both physical and digital) and to be aware of potential issues.
3. Review the records you wish to transfer:
- Remove materials that do not meet the criteria established in the Records Retention Schedule and the University Archives Collecting Policy.
- Remove items listed above under “What Records Not to Transfer.”
- Documents generated by the office of record are preferred over duplicates collected by another office.
- Label all file folders with a descriptive name that identifies their contents. Avoid terms such as “Miscellaneous” or “General.” Adding the date range of the folder’s contents is very helpful
4. Pack the Boxes (Paper records):
- University Archives will provide acid-free boxes upon request. File folders must be placed in a standard records storage box measuring 12” x 10” x 15”. Do not use printer boxes as they are non-standard and are not designed for long-term storage. Do not use boxes that are long; while they match the size of file cabinet drawer, their size makes them too heavy to handle. Boxes can be ordered through Gaylord Archival (RC121510).
- If transferring oversize items, place them in a box that accommodates the materials without folding or harming the items.
- Materials in binders that are well marked are also acceptable. You may need to rest them on their side, if they are too tall on their spine, to fit in the box. Consider removing the items from the binder and placing contents in appropriately labeled file folders.
- File folders should be packed for transfer as they are arranged/found in the office of origin. Maintaining this arrangement is important because it reflects the functions and activities of that office.
- Place file folders in boxes in an upright manner, one folder behind another.
- Do not send loose material; material in labeled file folders is easier to identify, process, and retrieve.
- Hanging folders are not accepted as they damage boxes over time. Remove file folders from hanging folders and place directly in the boxes. Retain hanging file labels by writing the label on a slip of paper and using that paper as a divider to organize as files they were originally housed.
- Do not lay folders flat within boxes.
- Try to fill each box to capacity so that space is not wasted and records do not curl. A box that is too empty allows folders to slip down, bend, curve, or materials to fall out of folders.
- Do not pack boxes too full. A box is too full if it is difficult to handle, hard to retrieve files, or the box handles tear easily.
- Assign and write a box number on the front of each box in PENCIL.
5. Complete the Records Transmittal Form and Inventory to authorize transfer of your records.
- Create a folder-level inventory of each box. For each folder, identify the:
- Box number
- File folder name
- Date range of the records
- Submit the form and inventory to the University Archivist and attach the inventory to, or place it in, the first box of the transfer. This inventory is critical.
6. It is very important to schedule the date to transfer your materials to University Archives with the University Archivist. Materials are NOT accepted through campus mail.
Transferring Electronic Records
1. Notify the University Archivist of your intent to transfer electronic records.
2. While University Archives accepts a variety of formats, preferred formats for electronic records include:
- PDF/PDF-A/DOCX (Text)
- TIFF/JPG (Photo)
- XLSX/CSV (Data)
- MBOX/PST (Email)
3. All electronic records should be properly labeled/named with consistent file naming conventions. The creator or office of origin, date span, extent and description of contents should be identified in the transfer inventory form.
- Just as with paper records, the organization of electronic records speaks to the functions of an office. The file name and location within a file directory provides valuable information. When transferring electronic records to University Archives, it is important to maintain this original system of organization.
4. University Archives will work with your office and Information Technologies to determine the best method of transfer for electronic records. We prefer for files to arrive via OneDrive or network transfer.
5. Complete the Records Transfer and Inventory form.
6. If your email is eligible for transfer to University Archives, consult with the University Archivist. Due to limited storage capacity and costs, University Archives cannot accept all email accounts.
7. Website: if you would like University Archives to crawl your website for capture and preservation, please contact the University Archivist.
8. After transferring electronic records, offices may purge those files from their machines if they are no longer administrative useful in accordance with the Records Retention Policy and Records Retention Schedule.
