Skip to main content
Image Map

Archives and Special Collections at Xavier University: Faculty Resources

Guide to University Archives and Special Collections at Xavier University (Cincinnati, Ohio)

Welcome

University Archives and Special Collections staff remain committed to providing impactful learning experiences for Xavier students using UASC collections. During the fall 2020 semester, we will work closely with faculty to adapt to new classroom environments and CDC/campus safety guidelines. Please complete the Schedule A Class Visit form below and we will contact you to develop instructional strategies.

Schedule a Class Visit

Before your Class Visit

Review the University Archives and Special Collections Guides

These guides introduce the collections held by University Archives and Special Collections. They provide instructions on searching for specific collection materials and what to expect upon visiting. Review the guides to determine what materials might best suit your course. Set up an appointment with UASC staff to review the materials ahead of your class visit.

 

Consider the Learning Objectives

How does a class visit to UASC fit into your instructional goals? Are there specific concepts or skills you would like your students to learn? Is the instruction session part of a larger class project? When considering learning objectives and goals, you may find it helpful to review the Guidelines for Primary Source Literacy established by the Society of American Archivists and the Association of College and Research Libraries’ Rare Book and Manuscript Section.

 

Learn Policies and Procedures

We welcome students, faculty, staff, and the general public to conduct research within our collections. However, in order to ensure the best experience during your visit please review the information regarding our research policies ahead of your class visit.

Participants in class visits and instructions will be required to complete the Patron Registration Form and read our policies prior to their visit. The instructors are responsible for including this in their assignment instructions.

Participants in class visits and instructions must follow the same rules as researchers. No food or drink is allowed. Backpacks and bags shall be stored in spaces provided. No ink pens should be present; pencils and paper will be provided if needed. Clean hands ar required to use materials.

For security and conservation reasons, some valuable or fragile items may not be available for classroom use, or might require the presence of UASC staff while these items are on display.

 

Consider the Logistics

University Archives and Special Collections can accommodate up to 26 students and 12 items for course instruction sessions, depending on classroom availability and nature of instruction. For research appointments in the Archives Research Room, 2 students at a time can be accommodated. All class sessions using University Archives and Special Collections materials will be held in McDonald Library or the Conaton Learning Commons. UASC staff schedules rooms in coordination with the Registrar's office.

 

Contact UASC Staff

Instructors should request single–session classes at least two weeks in advance of the session date. For multi–session classes, reservations must be made prior to the start of the academic term. Please use the reservation form on the left to request instruction. All reservation requests will be treated on a first-come, first-serve basis and confirmations will be emailed. UASC staff meets with each instructor to discuss session learning objectives and instructional strategies. Instructor attendance during the session is strongly preferred.

Teaching Resources

Looking for inspiration for your course? The Primary Sources and the College Classroom Faculty Learning Community (2019-2020) invites you to view their projects featuring primary sources from UASC and beyond.

Check out this video of "Seeing Xavier Through Student's Eyes: A Sociological Analysis of Culture Using Primary Sources" by Dr. Travis Speice, in which he incorporates Xavier yearbook images into an interactive timeline.