Makerspace: Projects for Home

Android How to Program, Second Edition provides a clear and entertaining App-driven introduction to Android 4.3 and 4.4 development for both introductory- and intermediate-level programming courses. It also serves as a great reference and tutorial to learn Android programming.   The Deitels' App-driven Approach is simply the best way to master Android programming! The Deitels teach Android programming through seven complete, working Android Apps in the print book and more online. Each chapter presents new concepts through a single App. The authors first provide an introduction to the app, an app test-drive showing one or more sample executions , and a technologies overview . Next, the authors proceed with a detailed code walkthrough of the app's source code in which they discuss the programming concepts and demonstrate the functionality of the Android APIs used in the app. The book also has an extensive introduction to programming using the Java language, making this book appropriate for Java courses that want to add an App-programming flavor.   Teaching and Learning Experience This program will provide a better teaching and learning experience--for you and your students. Add an App Component to your Java Course: The appendices provide a condensed, friendly introduction to Java and the object-oriented programming techniques students will need to develop Android apps. Motivate Students with an App-driven Approach to Android 4.3 and 4.4 Development: Concepts are presented in the context of 7 complete working Android Apps, using the latest mobile computing technologies. Enhance Learning with Outstanding Pedagogical Features: The Deitels present hundreds of Android short-answer questions and app-development exercises complete with syntax coloring, code walkthroughs and sample outputs.

Welcome to the world's most comprehensive course on beginner iOS development. You'll learn the iOS fundamentals, interface builder, auto layouts, model view controllers and more. After you learn the basics of Xcode and iOS you'll build your first real-world project. By the end of this course, you'll understand how to build simple apps from start to finish in Xcode.

This course lays the foundation from which you can begin using Python to solve any problem - whether in data analysis, machine learning or web development. It gives you a fundamental understanding of Python loops, data structures, functions, classes, and more, to help you solve basic programming tasks so that you can confidently apply those skills to solve real problems. The course assumes zero prior experience with Python, though some fundamental knowledge of programming is recommended.

This course provides a guide on how to use the Python Programming Language in order to create a clone of the famouse game Flappy Bird. In the following lessons, you will be introduced to PyGame platform, a set of free Python modules, designed to enhance Python game development. Start learning about Python game development while creating the famous Flappy Bird Clone game at the same time. Learning both has never been that fun and easy!

Summary CSS in Depth exposes you to a world of CSS techniques that range from clever to mind-blowing. This instantly useful book is packed with creative examples and powerful best practices that will sharpen your technical skills and inspire your sense of design. Foreword by Chris Coyier, Cofounder of CodePen. Dig even deeper into the secrets of CSS with our video course CSS in Depth in Motion, available exclusively at Manning.com (www.manning.com/livevideo/css-in-depth-​in-motion)! Purchase of the print book includes a free eBook in PDF, Kindle, and ePub formats from Manning Publications. About the Technology Some websites really pop. They look great, they're visually consistent, and they feel interactive and responsive. You can bet their developers knew CSS in depth. CSS specifies everything from the structural layout of page elements to their individual look and feel. True masters know the patterns of CSS development, the techniques to implement them, and the subtle touches that result in beautiful typography, fluid transitions, and balanced graphics. Join them! About the Book CSS in Depth exposes you to a world of CSS techniques that range from clever to mind-blowing. This instantly useful book is packed with creative examples and powerful best practices that will sharpen your technical skills and inspire your sense of design. You'll gain new insights into familiar features like floats and units, and experiment with emerging ideas like responsive design and pattern libraries. Bottom line: this book will make you a better web designer and your apps will look fantastic! What's Inside Avoid common CSS pitfalls Master misunderstood concepts Use flexbox and grid layout Responsive designs for any device Code for reuse and maintainability About the Reader Written for web developers who know the basics of CSS and HTML. About the Author Keith J. Grant is a senior web developer who builds and maintains web applications and websites, including The New York Stock Exchange site. Table of Contents PART 1 - REVIEWING THE FUNDAMENTALS Cascade, specificity, and inheritance Working with relative units Mastering the box model PART 2 - MASTERING LAYOUT Making sense of floats Flexbox Grid layout Positioning and stacking contexts Responsive design PART 3 - CSS AT SCALE Modular CSS Pattern libraries PART 4 - ADVANCED TOPICS Backgrounds, shadows, and blend modes Contrast, color, and spacing Typography Transitions Transforms Animations

Tired of reading HTML books that only make sense after you're an expert? Then it's about time you picked up Head First HTML and really learned HTML. You want to learn HTML so you can finally create those web pages you've always wanted, so you can communicate more effectively with friends, family, fans, and fanatic customers. You also want to do it right so you can actually maintain and expand your web pages over time so they work in all browsers and mobile devices. Oh, and if you've never heard of CSS, that's okay--we won't tell anyone you're still partying like it's 1999--but if you're going to create web pages in the 21st century then you'll want to know and understand CSS. Learn the real secrets of creating web pages, and why everything your boss told you about HTML tables is probably wrong (and what to do instead). Most importantly, hold your own with your co-worker (and impress cocktail party guests) when he casually mentions how his HTML is now strict, and his CSS is in an external style sheet. With Head First HTML, you'll avoid the embarrassment of thinking web-safe colors still matter, and the foolishness of slipping a font tag into your pages. Best of all, you'll learn HTML and CSS in a way that won't put you to sleep. If you've read a Head First book, you know what to expect: a visually-rich format designed for the way your brain works. Using the latest research in neurobiology, cognitive science, and learning theory, this book will load HTML and CSS into your brain in a way that sticks. So what are you waiting for? Leave those other dusty books behind and come join us in Webville. Your tour is about to begin.

Web Programming with HTML 5, CSS, and JavaScript is written for the undergraduate, client-side web programming course. It covers the three client-side technologies (HTML5, CSS, and JavaScript) in depth, with no dependence on server-side technologies. One of the distinguishing features of this new text is its coverage of canvas, one of the most important new features of HTML5. Topics are presented in a logical, comprehensive manner and code is presented in both short code fragments and complete web pages, allowing readers to grasp concepts quickly and then apply the concepts in the context of a complete web page. Each chapter concludes with an optional case study, which builds upon itself to create a sophisticated website. The case studies allow students to apply what they have learned and gives them a feel for the real-world design process.

The Book of R is a comprehensive, beginner-friendly guide to R, the world s most popular programming language for statistical analysis. Even if you have no programming experience and little more than a grounding in the basics of mathematics, you ll find everything you need to begin using R effectively for statistical analysis. You ll start with the basics, like how to handle data and write simple programs, before moving on to more advanced topics, like producing statistical summaries of your data and performing statistical tests and modeling. You ll even learn how to create impressive data visualizations with R s basic graphics tools and contributed packages, like ggplot2 and ggvis, as well as interactive 3D visualizations using the rgl package. Dozens of hands-on exercises (with downloadable solutions) take you from theory to practice, as you learn: The fundamentals of programming in R, including how to write data frames, create functions, and use variables, statements, and loops S

To really learn data science, you should not only master the tools--data science libraries, frameworks, modules, and toolkits--but also understand the ideas and principles underlying them. Updated for Python 3.6, this second edition of Data Science from Scratch shows you how these tools and algorithms work by implementing them from scratch. If you have an aptitude for mathematics and some programming skills, author Joel Grus will help you get comfortable with the math and statistics at the core of data science, and with the hacking skills you need to get started as a data scientist. Packed with new material on deep learning, statistics, and natural language processing, this updated book shows you how to find the gems in today's messy glut of data. Get a crash course in Python Learn the basics of linear algebra, statistics, and probability--and how and when they're used in data science Collect, explore, clean, munge, and manipulate data Dive into the fundamentals of machine learning Implement models such as k-nearest neighbors, Naïve Bayes, linear and logistic regression, decision trees, neural networks, and clustering Explore recommender systems, natural language processing, network analysis, MapReduce, and databases

A comprehensive overview of data science covering the analytics, programming, and business skills necessary to master the discipline Finding a good data scientist has been likened to hunting for a unicorn: the required combination of technical skills is simply very hard to find in one person. In addition, good data science is not just rote application of trainable skill sets; it requires the ability to think flexibly about all these areas and understand the connections between them. This book provides a crash course in data science, combining all the necessary skills into a unified discipline. Unlike many analytics books, computer science and software engineering are given extensive coverage since they play such a central role in the daily work of a data scientist. The author also describes classic machine learning algorithms, from their mathematical foundations to real-world applications. Visualization tools are reviewed, and their central importance in data science is highlighted. Classical statistics is addressed to help readers think critically about the interpretation of data and its common pitfalls. The clear communication of technical results, which is perhaps the most undertrained of data science skills, is given its own chapter, and all topics are explained in the context of solving real-world data problems. The book also features: * Extensive sample code and tutorials using Python(tm) along with its technical libraries * Core technologies of "Big Data," including their strengths and limitations and how they can be used to solve real-world problems * Coverage of the practical realities of the tools, keeping theory to a minimum; however, when theory is presented, it is done in an intuitive way to encourage critical thinking and creativity * A wide variety of case studies from industry * Practical advice on the realities of being a data scientist today, including the overall workflow, where time is spent, the types of datasets worked on, and the skill sets needed The Data Science Handbook is an ideal resource for data analysis methodology and big data software tools. The book is appropriate for people who want to practice data science, but lack the required skill sets. This includes software professionals who need to better understand analytics and statisticians who need to understand software. Modern data science is a unified discipline, and it is presented as such. This book is also an appropriate reference for researchers and entry-level graduate students who need to learn real-world analytics and expand their skill set. FIELD CADY is the data scientist at the Allen Institute for Artificial Intelligence, where he develops tools that use machine learning to mine scientific literature. He has also worked at Google and several Big Data startups. He has a BS in physics and math from Stanford University, and an MS in computer science from Carnegie Mellon.

This accessible and classroom-tested textbook/reference presents an introduction to the fundamentals of the emerging and interdisciplinary field of data science. The coverage spans key concepts adopted from statistics and machine learning, useful techniques for graph analysis and parallel programming, and the practical application of data science for such tasks as building recommender systems or performing sentiment analysis. Topics and features: provides numerous practical case studies using real-world data throughout the book; supports understanding through hands-on experience of solving data science problems using Python; describes techniques and tools for statistical analysis, machine learning, graph analysis, and parallel programming; reviews a range of applications of data science, including recommender systems and sentiment analysis of text data; provides supplementary code resources and data at an associated website.

If you are a data analyst who has a firm grip on some advanced data analysis techniques and wants to learn how to leverage the features of R, this is the book for you. You should have some basic knowledge of the R language and should know about some data science topics.

Arduino Adventures: Escape from Gemini Station provides a fun introduction to the Arduino microcontroller by putting you (the reader) into the action of a science fiction adventure story. You'll find yourself following along as Cade and Elle explore Gemini Station--an orbiting museum dedicated to preserving and sharing technology throughout the centuries. Trouble ensues. The station is evacuated, including Cade and Elle's class that was visiting the station on a field trip. Cade and Elle don't make it aboard their shuttle and are trapped on the station along with a friendly artificial intelligence named Andrew who wants to help them get off the damaged station. Using some old hardware, a laptop, and some toolboxes full of electronics parts, you will follow along and build eight gizmos with Cade and Elle that will help them escape from Gemini Station. The hardware is Arduino. Each new challenge opens a new area of Arduino and basic electronics knowledge. You'll be taken incrementally from a simple task such as turning on a light through to a complex combination of microcontroller, electronic components, and software programming. By the end of the book you'll be well on your way towards being able to create and implement any sort of electronically controlled device you can imagine, using the stunningly popular Arduino microcontroller. Provides eight challenges, each challenge increasing in complexity Builds around a fictional storyline that keeps the learning fun Leaves you on a solid foundation of electronic skills and knowledge

"With futuristic homes on the rise, learn to control and automate the living space with intriguing IoT projects."About This Book* Build exciting (six) end-to-end home automation projects with Raspberry Pi 3,* Seamlessly communicate and control your existing devices and build your own home automation system,* Automate tasks in your home through projects that are reliable and funWho This Book Is ForThis book is for all those who are excited about building home automation systems with Raspberry Pi 3. It's also for electronic hobbyists and developers with some knowledge of electronics and programming.What You Will Learn* Integrate different embedded microcontrollers and development boards like Arduino, ESP8266, Particle Photon and Raspberry Pi 3, creating real life solutions for day to day tasks and home automation* Create your own magic mirror that lights up with useful information as you walk up to it* Create a system that intelligently decides when to water your garden and then goes ahead and waters it for you* Use the Wi-fi enabled Adafruit ESP8266 Huzzah to create your own networked festive display lights* Create a simple machine learning application and build a parking automation system using Raspberry Pi* Learn how to work with AWS cloud services and connect your home automation to the cloud* Learn how to work with Windows IoT in Raspberry Pi 3 and build your own Windows IoT Face Recognition door locking systemIn DetailRaspberry Pi 3 Home Automation Projects addresses the challenge of applying real-world projects to automate your house using Raspberry Pi 3 and Arduino. You will learn how to customize and program the Raspberry Pi 3 and Arduino-based boards in several home automation projects around your house, in order to develop home devices that will really rejuvenate your home.This book aims to help you integrate different microcontrollers like Arduino, ESP8266 Wi-Fi module, Particle Photon and Raspberry Pi 3 into the real world, taking the best of these boards to develop some exciting home automation projects. You will be able to use these projects in everyday tasks, thus making life easier and comfortable.We will start with an interesting project creating a Raspberry Pi-Powered smart mirror and move on to Automated Gardening System, which will help you build a simple smart gardening system with plant-sensor devices and Arduino to keep your garden healthy with minimal effort. You will also learn to build projects such as CheerLights into a holiday display, a project to erase parking headaches with OpenCV and Raspberry Pi 3, create Netflix's "The Switch" for the living room and lock down your house like Fort Knox with a Windows IoT face recognition-based door lock system.By the end of the book, you will be able to build and automate the living space with intriguing IoT projects and bring a new degree of interconnectivity to your world.Style and approachEnd to end home automation projects with Raspberry Pi 3.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,  authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A dozen fiendishly fun projects for the Raspberry Pi! This wickedly inventive guide shows you how to create all kinds of entertaining and practical projects with Raspberry Pi operating system and programming environment. In Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius, you'll learn how to build a Bluetooth-controlled robot, a weather station, home automation and security controllers, a universal remote, and even a minimalist website. You'll also find out how to establish communication between Android devices and the RasPi. Each fun, inexpensive Evil Genius project includes a detailed list of materials, sources for parts, schematics, and lots of clear, well-illustrated instructions for easy assembly. The larger workbook-style layout makes following the step-by-step instructions a breeze. Build these and other devious devices: LED blinker MP3 player Camera controller Bluetooth robot Earthquake detector Home automation controller Weather station Home security controller RFID door latch Remote power controller Radon detector Make Great Stuff! TAB, an imprint of McGraw-Hill Professional, is a leading publisher of DIY technology books for makers, hackers, and electronics hobbyists.

Inner Journeying Through Art-Journaling introduces a holistic journaling process that combines art, art therapy, design theory and spiritual direction in order to attain personal balance, awareness of one's own inner processes, resolution of internal conflicts and enhanced wellness. The book guides the reader through the process of creative journaling and presents the key elements of the technique. Case studies and art journals of Marianne Hieb's own clients and retreat participants show the effectiveness of journaling as a therapeutic intervention and as a meditative tool. Inner Journeying Through Art-Journaling will be of significant use to anyone interested in holistic healing, and of special interest to arts therapists, counsellors, spiritual directors, and anyone dealing with people who are encountering loss, grief, resistance, or discernment issues. It will also be helpful for the individual looking to add holistic journaling to his or her own meditation, prayer, or inner exploration practice.

Craftivism is a worldwide movement that operates at the intersection where craft and activism meet; Craftivism the book is full of inspiration for crafters who want to create works that add to the greater good. With interviews and profiles of craftivists who are changing the world with their art, and through examples that range from community embroidery projects, stitching in prisons, revolutionary ceramics, AIDS activism, yarn bombing, and crafts that facilitate personal growth, Craftivism provides imaginative examples of how crafters can be creative and altruistic at the same time. Artists profiled in the book are from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, and Asia, and their crafts include knitting, crocheting, sewing, textiles, pottery, and ceramics. There's the Brooklyn writer who creates large-scale site-specific knitted installations; the British woman who runs sewing and quilting workshops for community building and therapy; the Indonesian book maker and organizer of a DIY craft center; and the Oxford, England, cultural theorist and dress designer. A wonderful sense of optimism and possibility pervades the book: the inspiring notion that being crafty can really make the world a better place. Betsy Greer is a writer, crafter, researcher, and the author of Knitting for Good!: A Guide to Creating Personal, Social and Political Change Stitch by Stitch. She also runs the blog craftivism.com and believes that creativity and positive activism can save not only the soul, but also the world.

Explore the world of textile arts, one thread at a time! The Textile Artist's Studio Handbook is the only book you need for expanding your repertoire of textile crafting and design techniques. This is the go-to guide for the foundations of design and fabrication, glossary of materials, and classic techniques that include weaving, dyeing, painting, and more! Plus, where else can you get behind-the-scenes access to setting up the best home textile studio for you? Inside, you'll find exploration of basic materials (including fibers, dyes, paints, and other media); visual tutorials for spinning, felting, crochet, weaving, sewing, and quilting; primers for surface decoration techniques such as dyeing, painting, stitching, and screen printing; and patterns and project instructions.

Beginning Photo Retouching & Restoration Using GIMP teaches the reader how to achieve professional results using this high end image editor. You'll learn how to do everything from making dull images "pop" to resurrecting badly damaged photographs deemed beyond any hope of rescue. There's no need to shell out good money month after month for the "big name" software package. GIMP 2.8 is a world-class image editor that wields almost as much power, and is completely free! Learning the art of photo retouching and restoration is fun and rewarding. Reclaim those treasured images from the ravages of time and neglect, and pass them on to future generations. Beginning Photo Retouching & Restoration Using GIMP will provide you with a wide array of editing exercises to help you develop a high degree of proficiency. Whether you are the designated "family archivist" wanting to preserve your family history, or a professional photographer with a desire to add an extra revenue generating service, this book will be an invaluable aid. * Shows how to acquire the best scans and digitize large photographs. * Teaches you how to digitally repair damaged prints, correct color shifts, reclaim lost detail-even colorize black and white images. * Offers great tips on how to maintain and preserve your newly printed restored photographs, and how to properly store originals.

As part of Packt's Beginner's Guide series, each chapter covers an aspect of working with Inkscape, with plenty of screenshots and practical examples. This book is intended for beginning graphic and web designers who want to expand their graphic software expertise. General familiarity with a graphics program is recommended, but not required.

Packed with fully explained examples, LaTeX Beginner's Guide is a hands-on introduction quickly leading a novice user to professional-quality results. If you are about to write mathematical or scientific papers, seminar handouts, or even plan to write a thesis, then this book offers you a fast-paced and practical introduction. Particularly during studying in school and university you will benefit much, as a mathematician or physicist as well as an engineer or a humanist. Everybody with high expectations who plans to write a paper or a book will be delighted by this stable software.