It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources: Computer Science: Makerspace
This Libguide contains information about resources available through the Xavier Library that will help you with your CS research.
The Xavier University Library Makerspace is available to all students, faculty, staff, and visitors for both coursework and personal projects.
The Makerspace VR Lab has everything you need to experience and create virtual reality environments. Students and faculty from all disciplines are invited to reserve time today!
Intel Core i9 3.6 GHz
32 GB DDR4 RAM
GeForce RTX 2880 Ti
1 TB SSD
VIVE Pro, 2 controllers, 2 base stations for room-scale interaction
Since this is a shared workstation, you are responsible for saving and backing up your own work. No guarantee can be made that work saved on the workstation will still be available on subsequent visits.
This course covers all the steps required to create a Unity 3D scene and deploy it as a virtual reality scene. You'll learn about the Unity game engine, who uses it, and the distinctions between the GoogleVR, Samsung Gear VR, and Oculus virtual reality platforms. The course uses a project approach where the learner builds an actual city scene in 3D and then deploys it as a virtual reality scene ready for viewing.
Unreal Engine 4 for virtual reality game design, development, User Experience design techniques and Blueprint programming to create virtual reality gameplay for HTC Vive, Oculus Rift, PSVR, and Windows Mixed Reality headsets. Key Features Build VR games from scratch with the power of Unreal Engine 4 Learn User Experience design practices to take your VR game to the next level Understand the best practices to creating art for games on HTC Vive, Oculus Rift, and PSVR Book Description With the ability to put players directly in the game, virtual reality gives users the chance to experience digital worlds directly. Nevertheless, many designers are unsure where to start when working with this amazing technology. With this book, you will learn user experience design processes and create immersive gameplay experiences designed for entertainment and player comfort. Using the power of Unreal Engine 4's Blueprint visual scripting language, you will build player interaction and locomotion systems from scratch and use these flexible systems to create a sample game, as well as develop functional 2D and 3D user interfaces for players to interact with. And also learn the best practices for creating game art for virtual reality. Finally, you will learn how to test your application with your target audience and finalize your game for distribution. By the end of this book, you will have the knowledge to be able to make the leap from traditional game development to creating immersive virtual reality experiences using Unreal Engine 4. What you will learn Understand how to get started with VR development in Unreal Engine 4 Design and create interaction and locomotion systems from scratch Plan and program a sample game for VR Understand how VR affects user experience and user interfaces Discuss what is needed to create optimized art for VR Test your game with users and prepare for distribution Who this book is for The audience for this book is intermediate or advanced users of Unreal Engine 4 but who have not begun working with VR technology. These users are familiar with the game engine and have an interest in VR technology. They are just beginning to explore the VR features that the game engine has to offer.
Storytelling for Virtual Reality serves as a bridge between students of new media and professionals working between the emerging world of VR technology and the art form of classical storytelling. Rather than examining purely the technical, the text focuses on the narrative and how stories can best be structured, created, and then told in virtual immersive spaces. Author John Bucher examines the timeless principles of storytelling and how they are being applied, transformed, and transcended in Virtual Reality. Interviews, conversations, and case studies with both pioneers and innovators in VR storytelling are featured, including industry leaders at LucasFilm, 20th Century Fox, Oculus, Insomniac Games, and Google. For more information about story, Virtual Reality, this book, and its author, please visit StorytellingforVR.com
Virtual Reality Filmmaking presents a comprehensive guide to the use of virtual reality in filmmaking, including narrative, documentary, live event production, and more. Written by Celine Tricart, a filmmaker and an expert in new technologies, the book provides a hands-on guide to creative filmmaking in this exciting new medium, and includes coverage on how to make a film in VR from start to finish. Topics covered include: The history of VR; VR cameras; Game engines and interactive VR; The foundations of VR storytelling; Techniques for shooting in live action VR; VR postproduction and visual effects; VR distribution; Interviews with experts in the field including the Emmy-winning studios Felix & Paul and Oculus Story Studio, Wevr, Viacom, Fox Sports, Sundance's New Frontier, and more.
The rise of enthusiast 3D printing and CNC machining has created a need for 3D CAD modeling skills, but CAD has traditionally been associated with a steep learning curve. With CAD for Beginners, you'll learn the basics of 3D CAD modeling all the way to advanced modeling using Autodesk Fusion 360, the cloud powered 3D CAD/CAM tool. In this practical guide, you'll start by learning the principles of parametric modeling and basic modeling and assembly methods. Then, you'll move into advanced modeling concepts like 3D sketching and splines, helixes and ribs, technical drawing, and rendering.
Visual Computing for Medicine, Second Edition, offers cutting-edge visualization techniques and their applications in medical diagnosis, education, and treatment. The book includes algorithms, applications, and ideas on achieving reliability of results and clinical evaluation of the techniques covered. Preim and Botha illustrate visualization techniques from research, but also cover the information required to solve practical clinical problems. They base the book on several years of combined teaching and research experience. This new edition includes six new chapters on treatment planning, guidance and training; an updated appendix on software support for visual computing for medici≠ and a new global structure that better classifies and explains the major lines of work in the field. Complete guide to visual computing in medicine, fully revamped and updated with new developments in the field Illustrated in full color Includes a companion website offering additional content for professors, source code, algorithms, tutorials, videos, exercises, lessons, and more
Is there a significant difference in attitude between immersion in a game and immersion in a movie or novel? What are the new possibilities for representation offered by the emerging technology of virtual reality? As Marie-Laure Ryan demonstrates in Narrative as Virtual Reality, the questions raised by new, interactive technologies have their precursors and echoes in pre-electronic literary and artistic traditions. Formerly a culture of immersive ideals-getting lost in a good book, for example-we are becoming, Ryan claims, a culture more concerned with interactivity. Approaching the idea of virtual reality as a metaphor for total art, Narrative as Virtual Reality applies the concepts of immersion and interactivity to develop a phenomenology of reading. Ryan's analysis encompasses both traditional literary narratives and the new textual genres made possible by the electronic revolution of the past few years, such as hypertext, interactive movies and drama, digital installation art, and computer role-playing games. Interspersed among the book's chapters are several "interludes" that focus exclusively on either key literary texts that foreshadow what we now call "virtual reality," including those of Baudelaire, Huysmans, Ignatius de Loyola, Calvino, and science-fiction author Neal Stephenson, or recent efforts to produce interactive art forms, like the hypertext "novel" Twelve Blue, by Michael Joyce, and I'm Your Man, an interactive movie. As Ryan considers the fate of traditional narrative patterns in digital culture, she revisits one of the central issues in modern literary theory-the opposition between a presumably passive reading that is taken over by the world a text represents and an active, deconstructive reading that imaginatively participates in the text's creation.