LibGuides: Graduate School Library Research: Counseling

Counseling

Counseling Librarian Introduction

Hello! My name is Christine Mueller and I am the Personal Library liaison to the Department of Counseling.

I can help support you by providing library research help by assisting you to find high quality sources for your papers and projects.

Find ways to reach out to me on University Library's Ask A Librarian page.

I look forward to working with you!

Finding Databases by Subject

Databases are collections of information sources that offer research materials specific to subject disciplines.

First, review how to find databases by subject disciplines.

Then, find video tutorials for Counseling databases below.

How to Find Databases

From the library homepage, select the "Databases" tab.

Databases tab

Selecting Databases

Use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu to see all of the subject areas available.

Database Subjects Menu

Choosing Subject Databases

When researching, think about the subjects that are a part of your topic. What subject areas are included in your topic?

Select subject databases that are relevant to your topic. For example, if you're topic is how does packaging color affect consumer purchasing decisions, you would consider subject databases that cover Marketing and also Psychology.

Help with Databases

Many databases have a similar look and feel to "Advanced Searching" in Search@XU with the 3 search boxes and ways to refine your search results. Some have unique interfaces. Please ask a librarian for help navigating any databases that you think may be useful to your research.

Finding Databases by Subject Video Tutorial

After the following introductory video tutorial, find Counseling database tutorials below.

DSM Library This link opens in a new window
Library includes: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, Guia de consulta de los Criterios Diagnosticos Del DSM-5, and Legacy or previous versions of DSM.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text™ provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
Electronic Theses & Dissertations (ETD) Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
This database is a database of masters' theses and doctoral dissertations submitted by graduate students matriculating at higher education institutions in Ohio. It is produced by participating Ohio colleges and universities and the user interface is provided by OhioLINK. Evidence-Based Practice Tip: All articles in this database should have some level of evidence.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) - EBSCO Database This link opens in a new window
This database contains abstracts and indexing for books (1993-present), ERIC documents, and journal articles in education research and practice. It includes descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. It also provides links to the full-text of most ERIC documents from 1993-present. It is produced by ERIC and the user interface is provided by EBSCO.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) - Government Database This link opens in a new window
Books1993-present; journals 1966-present
This database contains abstracts and indexing for books (1993-present), ERIC documents, and journal articles in education research and practice. It includes descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. It also provides links to the full-text of most ERIC documents from 1993-present.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
A shared subscription with 5 Ohio libraries, this database permits 5 simultaneous users. If you are unable to get in please try again later.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print, produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within diverse areas. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
12 siimultaneous users
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) This link opens in a new window
This government resource provides fast facts, publications and reports, surveys, and datasets. It is produced by the US Department of Education.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts from 1984-present for over 490 journals, many peer-reviewed, and full-text from 1990-present for 510 journals. It covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO , database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PsycInfo (PsycNet) This link opens in a new window
This database is the online version of the print resource, Psychological Abstracts. It provides abstracts and indexing to the scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology, the behavioral sciences and mental health. It also covers topics related to psychology such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Journal coverage includes more than 1,900 international periodicals written in over 24 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. It is produced by the American Psychological Association (APA) and the user interface is provided by PsycNET.
SAGE Video Counseling & Psychotherapy Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 480 streaming videos on topics including counseling research methods, counseling setting/client groups, theory and approaches, counseling skills, and professional issues.

Library Resources: Counseling
by Christine Mueller Last Updated Jan 20, 2023 165 views this year