LibGuides: Graduate School Library Research: Education

Education

Education Librarian Introduction

Hello! My name is Christine Mueller and I am the Personal Library liaison to the School of Education.

I can help support you by providing library research help by assisting you to find high quality sources for your papers and projects.

Find ways to reach out to me on University Library's Ask A Librarian page.

I look forward to working with you!

Finding Databases by Subject

Databases are collections of information sources that offer research materials specific to subject disciplines.

First, review how to find databases by subject disciplines.

Then, find video tutorials for Education databases below.

How to Find Databases

From the library homepage, select the "Databases" tab.

Databases tab

Selecting Databases

Use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu to see all of the subject areas available.

Database Subjects Menu

Choosing Subject Databases

When researching, think about the subjects that are a part of your topic. What subject areas are included in your topic?

Select subject databases that are relevant to your topic. For example, if you're topic is how does packaging color affect consumer purchasing decisions, you would consider subject databases that cover Marketing and also Psychology.

Help with Databases

Many databases have a similar look and feel to "Advanced Searching" in Search@XU with the 3 search boxes and ways to refine your search results. Some have unique interfaces. Please ask a librarian for help navigating any databases that you think may be useful to your research.

Finding Databases by Subject Video Tutorial

After the following introductory video tutorial, find Education database tutorials below.

Education Database Video Tutorials

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

Video Tutorial for Education Research Complete

ERIC

ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) - Government Database

Books1993-present; journals 1966-present
This database contains abstracts and indexing for books (1993-present), ERIC documents, and journal articles in education research and practice. It includes descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. It also provides links to the full-text of most ERIC documents from 1993-present.

Video Tutorial for ERIC

NCES

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

This government resource provides fast facts, publications and reports, surveys, and datasets. It is produced by the US Department of Education.

Video Tutorial for NCES - Coming Soon

Education Databases

AMS Research Library This link opens in a new window
Researchers are increasingly contributing to the body of knowledge about Montessori education. In the AMS Research Library, you will find scholarly resources curated from a range of platforms. Look for:

Dissertations and theses vetted by college and university faculty for appropriate research methods and conclusions.
Peer-reviewed journal articles, the foundation of scholarly research because they are considered to be the most rigorous and valid sources of information.
White papers authored by members of the AMS Research Committee that address issues of importance to Montessorians.
Action research projects reporting on research designed and conducted by practitioners to solve an immediate problem or improve their own practice.
Conference handouts from research-related workshops and posters at The Montessori Event.
CLCD This link opens in a new window
Providing diverse, unbiased reviews and one search access to PreK-12 media of all types. Information such as book reviews, thematic lists, award listings, and curriculum tools to provide an extensive collection of materials to meet your needs, in an easy to use format. Content includes:Over 3,000,000 TitlesMore than 50 Professional Review Sources (650,000+ Reviews).850+ National and International Young Adult and Children ’s Book AwardsThousands of Regional, State and National Best Books ListsLexiles, Accelerated Reader and Reading Counts RMPsThousands of Author/Illustrator Links
Looking for a science fiction title for a 10 year old library patron? Looking for five books to use with a science lesson focusing on water? CLCD makes it easier. Need to build your WWII young adult historical fiction collection? Need to help your daughter find a four point AR book that interest her and is on her reading level? CLCD has got you covered.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.

The library provides access to data from 2017-2021.
World Book Early World of Learning This link opens in a new window
The Early Learning database is a new interface with games and activities for pre-schoolers and k-1st graders. A wealth of resources to help preschoolers and children in the early grades grasp critical early childhood themes
The Early Learning database has replaced the Early World of Learning database
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text™ provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) - EBSCO Database This link opens in a new window
This database contains abstracts and indexing for books (1993-present), ERIC documents, and journal articles in education research and practice. It includes descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. It also provides links to the full-text of most ERIC documents from 1993-present. It is produced by ERIC and the user interface is provided by EBSCO.
Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Explora Secondary Schools version is designed for students in grades 6-12. Users will be searching content in the following databases: Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Middle Search Plus, TOPICsearch, Primary Search, Newspaper Source, Health Source, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Columbia Encyclopedia, and Topic Overviews 6-12.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for 554 magazines and full-text for 490 magazines. It covers general reference, health, science, and other areas. It also includes the full-text for over 3,000 charts and tables, 5,000 Magill Book Reviews, 149 Macmillan books, over 540 health and science-related pamphlets, the CIA World Factbook, and Essential Documents in American History.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) This link opens in a new window
This government resource provides fast facts, publications and reports, surveys, and datasets. It is produced by the US Department of Education.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Library Resources: Education Research
by Christine Mueller Last Updated Jan 25, 2024 301 views this year
OAE / Ohio Assessments for Educators - Test Preparation
by Christine Mueller Last Updated Oct 11, 2022 284 views this year