LibGuides: Company Research: Industry Information

eStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
Contains composite financial data from over 250,000 anonymous financial statements of manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting businesses operating in 762 industries. Designed to be particularly useful to lending and credit risk professionals who want to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business.

MSN Money Key Ratios
Contains company and industry ratios.

Market share is the percentage of the total market (or industry) sales made by one firm. Market share can be reflected as either a percentage of sales dollars, a percentage of units sold, or a percentage of customers. Percentage of sales dollars is the most common reference.

The market share for particular brands/products can be found in the database Gale: Business Insights. Once in the database, search by industry to locate the associated industry profile. Scroll to industry articles section and select Market Share / Rankings.

The following databases and websites provide information on different industries.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Business Insights provides access to over 4,000 full-text publications including newspapers, trade journals, magazines, and peer-reviewed academic journals. Explore over 1,057 industries with industry reports, competitive landscapes, Plunkett Reports, case studies and more. Explore countries and territories by their top industries and the companies based there, along with relevant articles like news, magazine articles, and more.
To find the market share of a particular brand/product/company follow these steps:
• From the homepage, search for the brand/product/company.
• Filter your search results to Market Share Reports.
• You'll get a list, arranged chronologically, of every Market Share Reporter report that includes the brand/product/company that you searched.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Formerly Mintel Reports, this database offers international market research reports covering US, EU & UK marketplaces. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Each report includes an introduction, abbreviations, executive summary, market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising & promotion, retail distribution, the consumer and future & forecast. There are three types of reports: consumer, life style and travel. Each report provides news updates and related reports.
Passport This link opens in a new window
This database includes 8 million exportable business statistics, about 18,000 reports, research on more than 200 national markets, emerging trends, and easy to use powerful data analysis functions. It permits industry, country, and consumer group searches. Advanced searching allows users to select a company or brand and then limit by packaging and package closure. It also includes spotlights and latest research. It is compiled by and the user interface is provided by Euromonitor International.

Bureau of Labor Statistics: Industries at a Glance
globalEDGE
Created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.

Company Research: Industry Information

Industry Research