Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Map

Theology and Religion: Historical Resources

Library resources for theology and religion

Theology Resources in Special Collections

Xavier's Special Collections contains many rare sacred texts and theological works. It also has a strong collection of hagiography, Jesuitica (works related to the history of the Jesuits or created by Jesuits), and historical Bibles. Special Collections cares for Xavier University's Saint John's Bible Heritage Edition, a fine-art reproduction of the first handwritten, illuminated Bible commissioned by the Benedictines' in over 500 years. A volume is on display in the Conaton Learning Commons Atrium.

The University Archives and Special Collections LibGuide contains more information about collection strengths and individual titles.

Finding Materials in Special Collections

Search Xplore, the library catalog, to locate rare books in Special Collections.
 

  • Search Tip: Limit by Location
    • Select the Advanced Search option, enter your search term(s) into the search box, and then limit the location of the search to "Special Collections 3rd floor." This will retrieve results found only in Special Collections.
      Xplore advanced search screen











       
  • Search Tip: use keywords such as Bible, Saints, Jesuits while limiting by location.

Using Materials in Special Collections

University Archives and Special Collections is located in room 309 on the third floor of McDonald Library on the campus of Xavier University, Cincinnati, Ohio.

Appointments are required for access to University Archives and Special Collections materials. The materials are non-circulating (no check outs). Appointments are generally available Monday-Friday, 8:00am-4:00pm. University Archives and Special Collections is closed during official University closures.

Help University Archives and Special Collections preserve Xavier's history by:

  • Leaving food and beverages at home;
  • Arriving with clean hands;
  • Asking for permission to photograph materials;
  • Seeking help to handle fragile items;
  • Using pencil for note taking;
  • Keeping materials supported on the table while conducting research; and
  • Use the provided paper flags and reproduction request form to request photocopies or scans of materials.

All researchers will complete a Researcher Registration Form upon arrival.

the life of saint ignatius loyola

Vita beati P. Ignatii Loiolae, Societatis Iesu Fundatoris (1609)