LibGuides: Theology and Religion: Background: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Reference works about Religion (Online)

Background sources such as encyclopedias and handbooks provide well established summary and factual information. These sources can be used for:

understanding basic concepts and viewpoints,
gathering historical context, and
identifying specialized terms and definitions.

Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Religion
Lindsay Jones, ed. 2nded. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005. 10735 pp. 15 vols.
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This database is a cross-searchable database of more than 125 quick reference dictionaries and 189 in-depth encyclopedias. It covers religion and general reference.

A concise dictionary of Bible origins and interpretation by Alec Gilmore
Publication Date: 2006
Concise, convenient and comprehensive: this handy dictionary will inform and enlighten all who want to understand how the Bible came together, the history of the various texts behind it, the versions in which it has appeared, the process of editing and compilation, and the different methods of interpretation that have developed over the centuries. Much of this material can be found in larger reference works and commentaries, but most students and lay people find that most of these books are written by scholars for scholars, which means the reader can feel bogged down in too much technical detail. Informed by the latest advances in biblical scholarship, this handy dictionary provides the reader with concise, manageable information on all the key issues and topics.

Reference works about Religion (Print)

How to find physical reference works in the library catalog: You can find encyclopedias and dictionaries in the library catalog by selecting the Books tab on the library homepage and using the terms 'encyclopedia' or 'dictionary' in your search. Example keyword search: "Islam encyclopedia."

How to find physical reference works in the library building: Most encyclopedias and dictionaries can be found in the 3rd floor Reference section of McDonald Library, near the entrance to the Conaton Learning Commons. Reference materials may be used within the library.

How to cite reference works: Cite encyclopedias and dictionaries using Chicago Style.

Dictionary of Christianity in America by coordinating editor, Daniel G. Reid ; consulting editors, Robert D. Linder, Bruce L. Shelley, Harry S. Stout
Call Number: BR515 .D53 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Encyclopedia of religion in America by Charles H. Lippy, Peter W. Williams
Call Number: 3rd floor ref. BL2520 .E52 2010
Publication Date: 2010
A multidisciplinary examination of religion in American life. This authoritative four-volume reference work explores the origins, development, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced in North America, including major world religions and emerging sects, cults and movements. The work covers the significant denominations and movements that have originated or flourished in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, from the beginning of European settlement to the present. Includes coverage of religious life amoung indigenous peoples; specific aspects of religous life; and the relationship of religion to the political, social, economic, and cultural spheres. Topics include: church-state issues; environment and ecology; gay and lesbian issues; religion and politics; religious life of African Americans and Latinos; religious thought; role of women; worship
Encyclopedia of Christianity by edited by John Bowden
Call Number: BR95 .E47 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Pentecostal and Charismatic Christianity by Stanley M. Burgess, editor
Call Number: BR1644 .E63 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Melton's encyclopedia of American religions by J. Gordon Melton ; James Beverley, associate editor ; Constance Jones, assistant editor ; Pamela S. Nadell, assistant editor ; foreword by Rodney Stark
Call Number: BL2525 .M449 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Brill's encyclopedia of Hinduism by Knut A. Jacobsen (editor-in-chief)
Call Number: 3rd floor ref. BL1105 .B75 2009 vols.1-6
Publication Date: 2009
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism is a thematically organized encyclopedia, presenting the latest research on all the main aspects of the Hindu traditions. Its essays are original work written by the world's foremost scholars on Hinduism. The encyclopedia aims at a balanced and even-handed view of Hinduism, recognizing the divergent perspectives and methods in the academic study of a religion that is both an ancient historical tradition and a flourishing tradition today.
A dictionary of Hinduism by W.J. Johnson
Call Number: 3rd floor ref. BL1105 .J65 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Comprehensive reference book on the subject, covering practices, festivals, beliefs, gods, sacred sites, languages, religious texts, and much more. Find authoritative information on all aspects of Hinduism, from bhakti and Divali to Tantra and temples
A concise encyclopedia of Buddhism by John Powers
Call Number: 3rd floor ref. BQ128 .P69 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Includes chronology, bibliographical references, and index
Encyclopedia of Islam by Juan E. Campo
Call Number: 3rd floor ref. DS35.53 .C36 2009
Publication Date: 2009
In about 550 A-to-Z entries, this encyclopedic guide explores the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, and institutions that helped shape the history of this religion and the way it is practiced today. An informative introduction provides readers with an overview of Islam, and a chronology, a detailed bibliography, an index, and approximately 80 black-and-white photographs complete this timely resource.
The new encyclopedia of Islam by Cyril Glassé
Call Number: 3rd floor ref. BP40 .G53 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Critical companion to the Bible : a literary reference by Martin H. Manser
Call Number: 3rd floor ref. BS535 .M34 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Examines the Bible as a work of literature, focusing on its language and verbal structures and on the imaginative quality of its thought. Includes bibliographical references (p. 466-481) and index.
Dictionary of the Old Testament : wisdom, poetry & writings by Tremper Longman III, Peter Enns
Call Number: BS440 .D53 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Includes bibliographical references and indexes
Handbook on the prophets : Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, Daniel, minor prophets by Frank S. Mead, Samuel S. Hill, Craig D. Atwood
Call Number: BL2525 .M425 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Religions of the world : a comprehensive encyclopedia of beliefs and practices by J. Gordon Melton, Martin Baumann, editors ; David B. Barrett, world religious statistics ; Donald Wiebe, introduction
Call Number: BL80.3 .R45 2002 v. 1 - v. 4
Publication Date: 2002