Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Map

Zotero: Making Research Easy: Creating Bibliographies

Zotero is free, cross-platform software used to save, manage, and cite research.

Creating Bibliographies

To create a bibliography, select the titles of the articles that you used in your research paper. To select multiple articles, use ctrl+click (Windows) or cmd+click (Mac). Right click on your selection and choose "Create bibliography from item(s)."

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Select your bibliography style and the file type you would like to export your bibliography in. Save the file to your computer and open it the word processor of your choice! Although not discussed here, Zotero also provides plugins for Word and LibreOffice.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Success!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Triple check that the information in your bibliography is accurate! Zotero will give you a good starting point, but they may not be completely accurate. The Purdue Online Writing Lab is a good place for more information about proper citations.

Install Additional Styles

If the citation style you need is not listed, there are hundreds of other styles that can be added. From the Preferences menu, select "Cite." Then select "Get additional styles." Search for the style you need then select its title to install it.