Library Resources: Political Science: News and newspapers
This Libguide contains information about resources available through the Xavier Library that will help in you in doing research in your Political Science classes
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes more than 8,000 news publications from nearly 200 countries worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Access World News is updated daily to keep students informed of current issues and events, and it includes deep archives that provide background information on important topics, enabling students to trace an issue or event over a period of time
The Associated Press is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting. Founded in 1846, AP today remains the most trusted source of fast, accurate, unbiased news in all formats and the essential provider of the technology and services vital to the news business.
Students, faculty, and staff have full access to the Cincinnati Business Courier to include all Digital content across 18 different Industries, access to the Weekly Edition, Book of Lists, the Search Archives and much more.
Access from 1923 to present with a two week embargo on current issues. A digital archive of full-run, full page images of the Cincinnati Enquirer. This resource includes downloadable PDFs and is searchable at the page level and cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
1984-present; updated daily; some full-text; tutorials
Newspaper SourceThis database provides indexing and abstracts for 4 national newspapers; selected full-text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, 9 newspaper columns; and cover-to-cover full text for Christian Science Monitor and Los Angeles Times.
Select if you are on or off campus. You will be redirected to the NYT welcome page.
Click "Already have an account? Log in here".
Log in with your existing NYT username and password.
Once completed, your digital access will be restored and you can navigate directly to nytimes.com from any web- enabled device, including your smart phone.
NOTE: Faculty & staff will need to renew their subscription once every four years. Students will have access until they graduate.
1851-within four years of the present; all full-text; updated annually
This database contains full-page and article images of every page and every issue of the New York Times, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF. It includes ads, comics, cartoons, photos, maps and other graphics.
Access to 46 current and historical Ohio newspapers, including the Cincinnati Enquirer. For direct links to search only the Cincinnati Enquirer, see Cincinnati Enquirer and Cincinnati Enquirer Historical Database.
Every issue of each title includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.
Newspaper Title List:
The Advocate (1970-)
Chillicothe Gazette (1940-)
Chillicothe Scioto Gazette (1930-1939)
Cincinnati Enquirer (1923-)
The Cincinnati Post (1890-1958)
The Cincinnati Post (1974-2007)
The Cincinnati Post and Cincinnati Times - Star (1958)
The Cincinnati Post and Times Star (1958-1973)
Coshocton Daily Tribune (1909-1911)
Coshocton Morning Tribune (1911-1917)
The Coshocton Tribune (1930-)
Coshocton Tribune and Times-Age (1917-1929)
The Daily Gazette (1892-1900)
The Daily News (1967-1969)
The Daily Signal (1895-1897)
Daily Star (1877-1878)
Daily Times Recorder (1885-1890)
The Dayton Daily News (1923-1986)
Dayton Daily News (1987-)
The Evening Post (1883-1890)
Lancaster Daily Eagle (1915-1935)
Lancaster Eagle-Gazette (1936-)
Mansfield Journal the Mansfield News (1932-1932)
The Mansfield News (1895-1932)
Mansfield News-Journal (1933-1964)
The Marion Daily Star (1878-1926)
The Marion Star (1926-)
Newark Advocate and American Tribune (1929-1970)
News Herald (1969-)
News Journal (1964-)
The Penny Paper (1882)
The Penny Post (1883)
The Scioto Gazette (1900-1930)
The Sunday Times-Signal (1922-1959)
The Times Recorder (1904-1959)
The Times Recorder (1965-)
The Times Recorder and Zanesville Signal (1959-1965)
USA Today (2009-)
The Weekly News (1891-1892)
The Zanesville Daily Signal (1866-1869)
Zanesville Daily Signal (1882-1895)
Zanesville Daily Times Recorder (1891)
Zanesville Evening Signal (1900-1902)
The Zanesville Morning Signal (1866)
The Zanesville Signal (1902-1959)
Zanesville Times Recorder (1894-1904)
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
