Skip to main content
Image Map

Library Resources: Nursing: Health Statistics

Find Nursing Resources in this guide.

Sage Stats, Demographic Now and Statistical Abstract

Sage Stats has statistical data series created from more than 200,000 government and non-government datasets, covering popular topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, metropolitan areas, and ZIP codes.

Centers for Disease Control

Centers for Disease Control

The CDC's mission is to "protect America from health, safety and security threats...To accomplish our mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against health threats, and responds when these arise.

Centers for Disease Control Data and Statistics includes statistics by topic and a list of additional tools and resources.

WISQARS:  CDC’s Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System includes statistics about fatal injury reports, non-fatal injury reports, leading causes of fatal injuries, leading causes of non-fatal injuries.t.

WONDER (Centers for Disease Control) includes statistics about mortality, leading causes of death, occupational mortality, fatal accidents, injuries, aging trends, asthma prevalence, cancer incidence, diabetes prevalence, chronic disease prevention and health risks.

 

 

National Insitutes of Health

National Institues of Health

NIH is made up of 27 Institutes and Centers, each with a specific research agenda, often focusing on particular diseases or body systems.  Here's a list of selected institutes:

National Cancer Institute (NCI)  

NCI is the Federal Government's principal agency for cancer research and training

National Institute on Aging (NIA)

NIA is dedicated to understanding the nature of aging, supporting the health and well being of older adults.

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

NICHD supports investigation and research in human development to better understand developmental and intellectual disabilities.

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

NIDA supports research across a broad range of disciplines and disseminates information to improve the prevention and treatment of drug abuse and addiction.

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)

NINR seeks to improve the health and health care of Americans through funding of nursing research and research training.

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

NLM maintains and makes available information resources on a wide range of topics.  It produces Medline and PubMed, among other databases.

State and Local Sources of Information

Ohio Department of Health Data & Statistics

Includes published reports on vital statistics, specific diseases and conditions, health surveys and community profiles.

Hamilton County Public Health

Provides mental health/recovery services, health and birth/death records.

Indiana State Department of Health (ISDH)

ISDH promotes and provides essential health services.

Kentucky Cabinet for Health & Family Services (CHFS)

Kentucky CHFS supports the state's human services and health care programs.

State & Local Government on the Web: Ohio

Basic information about state and local government with links to specific offices, branches, services, boards, commissions, counties and cities.

State & Local Government on the Web: Indiana

Basic information about state and local government with links to specific offices, branches, services, boards, commissions, counties, and cities.

State & Local Government on the Web: Kentucky

Basic information about state and local government with links to specific offices, branches, services, boards, commissions, counties, and cities.

Greater Cincinnati Health Council: Public Reports includes reports on hospital quality and performance measures, nursing supply and demand, uncompensated care, and vacancy and workforce.

Interact for Health: Data & Reports (formerly the Health Foundation of Greater Cincinnati) includes publications, reports, surveys, and OASIS data.