Choose a newspaper database based on the topic of your paper/project or the class you are in to find newspaper articles. Some of these databases contain newspapers from the period of the topic you are studying. For instance, you can search the Cincinnati Enquirer Historical databases for newspaper accounts that are contemporary to the Stock Market crash of 1929 or to get a sense of the cultural life of the 1920s.
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes more than 8,000 news publications from nearly 200 countries worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Access World News is updated daily to keep students informed of current issues and events, and it includes deep archives that provide background information on important topics, enabling students to trace an issue or event over a period of time
The Associated Press is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting. Founded in 1846, AP today remains the most trusted source of fast, accurate, unbiased news in all formats and the essential provider of the technology and services vital to the news business.
Full-text access to thousands of digitized and born-digital issues of Catholic news sources. Search by keyword, names, events and places. Browse by years, titles and dioceses. This collection contains 10,971 issues comprising 254,941 pages.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
1984-present; updated daily; some full-text; tutorials
Newspaper SourceThis database provides indexing and abstracts for 4 national newspapers; selected full-text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, 9 newspaper columns; and cover-to-cover full text for Christian Science Monitor and Los Angeles Times.
Select if you are on or off campus. You will be redirected to the NYT welcome page.
Click "Already have an account? Log in here".
Log in with your existing NYT username and password.
Once completed, your digital access will be restored and you can navigate directly to nytimes.com from any web- enabled device, including your smart phone.
NOTE: Faculty & staff will need to renew their subscription once every four years. Students will have access until they graduate.
1851-within four years of the present; all full-text; updated annually
This database contains full-page and article images of every page of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF. It includes ads, comics, cartoons, photos, maps and other graphics
As compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Full text access to issues published from 1785-2014. Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.
Journals/Periodicals
Choose a serial publication (magazine, journal) based on your research topic:
The fifty thematic subsets from AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Ebsco provides digital access.
1. Advertising Periodicals, 1815-1888
2. Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern US, 1789-1879
3. Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western US, 1800-1878
4. Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878
5. Alternative Medicine and Health Periodicals, 1810-1877
6. American Civil War Periodicals, 1855-1868
7. American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1834
8. American Literary Periodicals, 1835-1858
9. American Literary Periodicals, 1859-1891
10. American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877
11. American Political and Social Movements Periodicals, 1815-1884
12. American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891
13. Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881
14. Business and General Education Periodicals, 1800-1885
15. Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1858
16. Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1859-1870
17. Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1871-1901
18. Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877
19. Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals, 1797-1904
20. College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877
21. Commercial Periodicals from the Southern US, 1811-1877
22. Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902
23. Cultural Periodicals from the Southern US, 1797-1877
24. Current Events and History Periodicals, 1691-1912
25. Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts Periodicals, 1764-1877
26. Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895
27. Fireside Companions and Family Literature Periodicals, 1805-1877
28. Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904
29. General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889
30. Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889
31. Literary Periodicals of New England, 1789-1878
32. Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877
33. Military and Law Enforcement Periodicals, 1691-1877
34. Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
35. Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879
36. Periodicals from Around the World, 1691-1880
37. Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881
38. Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879
39. Popular Educational Periodicals, 1758-1889
40. Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878
41. Religious Periodicals from the Southern US, 1801-1904
42. Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901
43. Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887
44. Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877
45. Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885
46. Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877
47. Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877
48. Women’s Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844
49. Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865
50. Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891
This database includes:
Over 136,000 titles (155,000 volumes)
Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue
Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere
Primarily in English - also includes other languages, provided by Gale publishing
This database contains the complete content of Harper's Weekly from its beginning. It covers the American Civil War and the end of Reconstruction. Covers 1857-1877
