LibGuides: Core 100 FYS Market Manias and Bubbles: Primary Source Digital Collections

Primary Source Databases

American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
This unique collection of documents brings to life American History from the times of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American history. Its quantity and quality offers a wonderful overview of American history alongside some deep research strands. It is divided into two modules: Module 1 Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859 and Module 2 Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
This collection explores colonial history, politics, culture and society. Material in the collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires; from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism. This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences.
Material in Empire Online has been sourced from a wide range of reputable institutions, with a particularly strong core of documents and images from the British Library.

Congressional Hearings
A hearing is a meeting or session of a Senate, House, joint, or special committee of Congress, usually open to the public, to obtain information and opinions on proposed legislation, conduct an investigation, or evaluate/oversee the activities of a government department or the implementation of a Federal law. In addition, hearings may also be purely exploratory in nature, providing testimony and data about topics of current interest.

Digital Projects/Websites

Coin and Conscience: Popular Views of Money, Credit and Speculation: Sixteenth through Nineteenth Centuries.
Lehman Brothers Collection
Drawing from the extensive Lehman Brothers Collection in Baker Library’s Special Collections, Lehman Brothers: A History, 1850–2008 examines the story of one of the country’s longest-running investment banks, its reach into nearly every sector of the American economy, and the impact of the firm’s collapse.
Origin of Value
The Origin of Value is an online visual database of financial instruments, securities and documents related to the history of financial markets.
Securities and Exchange Commission Historical Society
The virtual museum and archive of the history of financial regulation, providing access to primary materials on the creation and growth of the regulation of the capital markets from the 20th century to the present.
South Sea Bubble of 1720
Essay from the National Archives with primary sources providing evidence.
Oral history discussing the dot com bubble

Historical Images and Other Primary Sources

Primary sources can provide you with eyewitness accounts, evidence, and imagery associated with your chosen topic. When searching these digital collections, use similar terms as you did with Search@XU. Many of the platforms also allow you to filter by format, date, language, and more.

Core 100 FYS Market Manias and Bubbles: Primary Source Digital Collections

Introduction

Primary Source Databases

Digital Projects/Websites

Historical Images and Other Primary Sources