JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Also houses a growing collection of Open Access e-books and e-journals.
Historical Abstracts (1955-present; updated 3 times per year) indexes and abstracts over 2,000 international historical journals. It also includes selected journals in the social sciences and humanities. It covers history from 1450 to the present, but excludes US and Canadian history. Users can search cited references and browse Clio Notes, chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes in world history
This database provides indexing and abstracts for books, articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. It indexes 1,700 scholarly journals and incorporates all content from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index. It covers literature, language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
This database contains the full-text from over 330 journals and indexing and abstracts from nearly 700 journals. It includes scholarly journals as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Topics covered include art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, and religion.
This database is a cross-searchable collection of African-American history and culture. It covers the arts, biography, business, civil rights, education, folklore, history, literature, music, politics, pop culture, science, slavery, sports, and technology.
This collection includes the African-American Greenwood encyclopedias, other references books, and 67 Negro University Press texts from the late 1700s to the early 1970s. Primary sources include 4,000 interviews with former slaves (the WPA slave narratives), as well as manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, and statistics. Special features include a timeline dating from the 1400s to the present, In their Own Voices audio clips of slave interviews and music, lesson plans, and hundreds of photographs, maps and images.
covers 400-1700; updated daily
This database is a bibliography of approximately 230,000 articles and reviews drawn from over 400 medieval and renaissance journal titles of great use to scholars interested in the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. More than 60,000 new records are added annually. Iter is compiled by Arizona State University, University of Toronto, Renaissance Society of America, Sixteenth Century Society and Conference, Institute for Research in Classical Philosophy and Science, International Society of Anglo-Saxonists, Medieval Academy of America, and International Society for the Study of Greek and Roman Music and its Cultural Heritage (MOISA). The user interface is provided by the University of Toronto Libraries.
This database indexes articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. It covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Users can search by date, subject and location.
Caribbean Search is a multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region. The collection contains over 730 Caribbean focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports and reference books making this the largest collection of full text content available to academic, school and public libraries in the region. This database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaThis link opens in a new windowBibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America contains more than 141,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Central & Eastern European Academic Source (CEEAS) provides full text (including PDF) coverage for scholarly journals published in central and eastern European countries. This multidisciplinary, multilingual database offers full text content to many academic.
1924-Current; limited to 10 simultaneous users
This specialized bibliographic database contains scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. With over 810,000 records, this database includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. It is Also known as the Database of Classical Bibliography. It is published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, the American Philological Association and the Database of Classical Bibliography with support from the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France) and the National Endowment for Humanities (USA).
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features content going back as far as 1887.
This database is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. It can be used as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications. It also provides the Points of View Debate Blog as a forum for students to express and exchange their unique views on topics in the news
This link opens in a new window