Keywords
Author: "Lastname, Firstname" or "Firstname Lastname", "title of work," "young adult literature," "young adult fiction," "diversity," "#weneeddiversebooks," "#ownvoices," "diversity in young adult literature," "YA," "representation"
Find Your Author's Website/Social Media
- Search "author's name" and young adult author
- Find their area of representation/interest
Literature (authors, short stories, YA literature, #OwnVoices)
- MLA International Bibliography
- Provides a classified listing and subject index for books, journal articles, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Gale Literature
- A wide range of literary criticism and analysis from a variety of Gale Company databases, including Literature Resource Center and Literature Criticism Online
- Gale Literature Resource Center
- Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
- Gale Literature Criticism
- An extensive compilation of literary commentary available representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras, and genre. Includes access to Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
- Contemporary Authors
- Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on all of the more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors New Revision Series. Updated monthly, Contemporary Authors allows users to search for an author by name, title of work, nationality, date and place of birth and death, subject/genre, personal and career information, awards and honors, and more.
- Something About the Author
- This database provides page images of the print Something About the Author series and Something About the Author Autobiography series. It examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators of children and young adult literature. It contains more than 12,000 entries that include autobiographies, biographies, and obituaries. Entries include personal and career information, writings, adaptations, sidelights, works cited, illustrations of the author and sample illustrations within their books
Diversity (including representation, intersectionality, privilege)
General searches for all topics
- AllForOne Search
- physical and digital resources in the collection, library research databases
- Google Scholar @ XU
- the familiar google scholar interface but connected to all of our Xavier Library resources
- Search Engines
- author websites, interviews, videos, social media posts
