Black History Month, celebrated in February, pays tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society and remembers the important people and events in the history of the African diaspora.
The logo is executed in red, black, and green, three of four colors that represent Black History Month. Red represents blood without which freedom cannot be achieved. Black represents the color of the race, and green is symbolic of vegetation.
Justice at War by
The status of civil rights in the United States today is as volatile an issue as ever, with many Americans wondering if new laws, implemented after the events of September 11, restrict more people than they protect. How will efforts to eradicate racism, sexism, and xenophobia be affected by the measures our government takes in the name of protecting its citizens? Richard Delgado, one of the founding figures in the Critical Race Theory movement, addresses these problems with his latest book in the award-winning Rodrigo Chronicles. Employing the narrative device he and other Critical Race theorists made famous, Delgado assembles a cast of characters to discuss such urgent and timely topics as race, terrorism, hate speech, interracial relationships, freedom of speech, and new theories on civil rights stemming from the most recent war. In the course of this new narrative, Delgado provides analytical breakthroughs, offering new civil rights theories, new approaches to interracial romance and solidarity, and a fresh analysis of how whiteness and white privilege figure into the debate on affirmative action. The characters also discuss the black/white binary paradigm of race and show why it persists even at a time when the country's population is rapidly diversifying.
In support of Xavier University's commitment to antiracism and to strengthen the library's equity, diversity and inclusion collections, the University Library is pleased to announce the purchase of three distinct e-book collections; Antiracist Reading, Social Justice, and Community Policing. Collectively, there are more than 170 titles with 61% available to simultaneous users and 91% having been published since 2017.
The Antiracist Reading collection focuses on works by authors of color and highlights nonfiction and memoir titles exploring issues of race in America.
The Social Justice collection is interdisciplinary and covers topics such as advocacy, discrimination, civil rights, human rights, environmental justice, social ethics and social change.
The Community Policing collection examines "the history and present challenges of police forces in the U.S. and around the world.”
Additionally, access is available to the OhioLINK Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) E-book Collection which allows you to create a shareable link of saved titles using the bookshelf feature.
The site will collect resources that you can use for your teaching, to acknowledge and address the history, theory, and literature that can contextualize what has led to the activism in the US around racism in the summer of 2020. Choose a category and click around
