LibGuides: Library Resources: Business Law: Research Databases

Law & Legal Research Databases

CCH® AnswerConnect This link opens in a new window
Formerly CCH IntelliConnect, this database covers tax news, research, preparation, accounting, audit, estate planning and practice management. It includes federal, state and international tax information. Search results can be limited by document type and jurisdiction. Document types include laws, regulations, IRS materials, agency materials and legislative documents. Access limited to 35 users.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts to journals, books and reports in criminology and related fields. It covers crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing.
GPO This link opens in a new window
This database contains over 498,000 bibliographic records of materials published by the U.S. Government Publications Office. It includes Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments such as Defense, State, Labor, and Office of the President. The user interface is provided by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center).
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 150 million pages and 200,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,500 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more. Ohio State Package and also the Fastcase Trial Collections END 11/30/20
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
This database indexes and abstracts scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. It covers current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. This database provides information on criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Legal research provides federal and state cases, Shepard's citations (how to Shepardize), federal and state codes, tax law, Canadian court cases and legislation, law reviews, and patents.
Ohio Administrative Code This link opens in a new window
This database contains all rules, including full appendices, certified to the Legislative Service Commission and the Secretary of State. It is produced by the State of Ohio and the user interface is provided by Anderson Publishing, Inc.
Ohio Revised Code This link opens in a new window
This database permits searching and browsing of Ohio legislation. It is produced by the State of Ohio
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
This database covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues, ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, international commerce, and conflict. It includes scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications, and government documents. Topics include banking, public finance, criminal justice, economic policy, taxation, education, emigration, immigration, energy, government, humanitarian issues, industry, labor, law, legislation, natural disasters, poverty, politics, elections, social policy, and transportation
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides extensive coverage on global political topics for students, researchers, and government institutions. It contains the full-text for more than 550 journals, along with indexing and abstracts for more than 2,900 journals. It also includes the full-text for more than 340 reference and other books, as well as the full-text for 38,000 conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. It covers topics such as comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law, legislation, political theory, and non-government organizations.

Business Databases

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business databases offering the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. It includes in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, most of them in full-text. Users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Business Abstracts with Full Text™ offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications dating back to 1995, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Business Insights provides access to over 4,000 full-text publications including newspapers, trade journals, magazines, and peer-reviewed academic journals. Explore over 1,057 industries with industry reports, competitive landscapes, Plunkett Reports, case studies and more. Explore countries and territories by their top industries and the companies based there, along with relevant articles like news, magazine articles, and more.
To find the market share of a particular brand/product/company follow these steps:
• From the homepage, search for the brand/product/company.
• Filter your search results to Market Share Reports.
• You'll get a list, arranged chronologically, of every Market Share Reporter report that includes the brand/product/company that you searched.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
This database provides information on public and private companies worldwide, company financials, M&A/financing transactions, public offerings, corporate executives' and board of directors' compensation, news, filings, screening tools, chart builder, real-time market data, relationship tree, macroeconomic data, industry analyses, and investment research.
Access information:
This database requires an individual account. Active account holders, access Capital IQ.
New users, please read how to create an account:
If you are having trouble logging in, or receive a message that you are not authorized to login from this location, clear your browser's cookies and cache and then login again. If you need additional assistance, please Open a Ticket.
To create your account, access Capital IQ and select "New User?".
Enter your Xavier email and select "Submit".
You will receive an email from clientsupport@capitaliq.com to complete your account registration. Select "Register to Access S&P Capital IQ".
Select your role (student, faculty, or staff), and enter your contact information. Select "Register".
You will receive an email from clientsupport@capitaliq.com confirming your account. You will need to reset your password at this time.
Once you have set your password, login to Capital IQ.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
This database is for professionals and researchers in entrepreneurship and small business, covering topics such as business planning, communications, innovations, management, marketing, organizational behavior, product development, raising capital, and risk taking. It provides users with the full-text of 125 periodicals and 135 reference books, numerous case studies, and thousands of company profiles. In addition, 600 videos with transcripts and related articles are available from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator TV, one of the world's largest social network sites for high-tech entrepreneurs.
Human Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts and links to some full-text periodical literature on human resources management, employee assistance, and organizational behavior.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Nov 1994-present; full-text Mar 2000-present
This database provides scientific papers reported by professional economists in academia, business and the government from around the world. About 500 papers are published each year. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER).

New York Times (Online)

New York Times Online offers the same content as the Print edition.
Open to all Xavier Faculty, Staff, and Students

Risk Management Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database is for risk management professionals, risk analysts, strategic planners, and business students. Hundreds of full-text resources and over one million records address all types of risk, including credit, liquidity, operational, event, and market. It includes background information form scholarly writings with expert commentary from organizations, agencies, and publishers, as well as timely reviews of recent developments across the international political, economic, social, and technical spectrum. It contains books, FAQs, journals, news wires, reports, and summaries.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Small Business Reference Center offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans. Small Business Reference Center offers readers a collection of state-specific resources supported with demographic data and other local information. Business videos include interviews, "lessons learned" features, lectures and how-to videos to help foster success in all aspects of managing a business. Content Includes: More than 400 full-text periodicals, more than 450 full-text reference books, more than 630 business videos.

Search@XU

Use Search@XU to search multiple research databases for scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and much more.

Search@XU This link opens in a new window

Interlibrary Loan

Use interlibrary loan to request articles for which Xavier does not have access.

Library Resources: Business Law

Law & Legal Research Databases

Business Databases

Access information:

Access information:

Search@XU

Interlibrary Loan