LibGuides: Library Resources: Writing Program: (English 101 & 115): Find a Topic

Need help getting started with a topic?

Resources to Find and Explore a Topic

Use the following resources to help find a topic, then explore it further.

Learning more about your topic is an important step prior to searching for sources.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of major issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects. An excellent source for charts and graphs that can be used in a speech.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This database is a cross-searchable database of more than 125 quick reference dictionaries and 189 in-depth encyclopedias. It covers general reference as well as specific subject categories: archaeology, art and architecture, bilingual dictionaries, classical studies, encyclopedias, English dictionaries and thesauri, history, language reference, law, linguistics, literature, media studies, medicine and health, music, names studies, performing arts, philosophy, quotations, religion, science and technology, social sciences, and society and culture.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
This database is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. It can be used as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications. It also provides the Points of View Debate Blog as a forum for students to express and exchange their unique views on topics in the news
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of thousands of primary source documents are fully integrated with encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include an online book archive, citation builder, and personal research accounts.

Topic Worksheet

Prepare a Keyword List

Once you have utilized some of the topic exploration tools, you are ready to prepare to search for resources.

Before you begin researching in the library resources, begin by brainstorming a list of keywords that you can use for your searches.
The below attached Topic Worksheet will help get you started thinking about your topic and organizing your thoughts on it.
- There is a blank copy that you can save and use.
- There is also an example of a worksheet already filled out.