It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources: English and Literature: Shakespeare
Scroll through the research database descriptions below to choose the one that best fits your topic, project, and/or research need. These databases are best if you are looking for the full text of Shakespeare's works or research on Shakespeare and his works. For general English and Literature research, start with MLA International Bibliography or Search@XU.
Provides a classified listing and subject index for books, journal articles, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association of America and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.
Originally created by Bloomsbury Publishing Plc and Faber and Faber, the Core Collection currently includes over 1,700 playtexts from Methuen Drama, The Arden Shakespeare, and Faber and Faber. The platform also includes 700 images from the Victoria and Albert Museum and American Shakespeare Centre.
From the works of Aeschylus in 5th Century BC to the present day, Drama Online provides unique access to the finest drama literature. Titles include the most highly regarded scholarly editions of Shakespeare—The Arden Shakespeare Series—as well as works from Henrik Ibsen, Bertolt Brecht, Harold Pinter, Oscar Wilde, Caryl Churchill, Simon Stephens, David Mamet and Katori Hall. The collection is continually updated with the very latest writing from new and established writers.
For Xavier University Users, any content with a yellow lock is not available.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare includes the complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeares works, from the First Folio (1623) to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6. It also includes twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works, and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries.
Presents full-text literary criticism on the plays and poetry of Shakespeare. Critical essays are selected from leading sources, including journals, magazines, books, reviews, diaries, newspapers, pamphlets, and scholarly papers. Includes commentary by Shakespeare's contemporaries as well as a full range of views from later centuries, with an emphasis on contemporary analysis. Includes aesthetic criticism, textual criticism, and criticism of Shakespeare in performance.
TO SEARCH ALONE: UNDER MORE OPTIONS - GO TO PRODUCT/SERIES - SELECT ONLY SHAKESPEAREAN CRITICISM ONLINE
Use Search@XU to search multiple research databases for scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and much more.