It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources: English and Literature: Author Research
Scroll through the research database descriptions below to choose the one that best fits your topic, project, and/or research need. These databases are best if you are looking for research on authors. For general English and Literature research, start with MLA International Bibliography or Search@XU.
Provides a classified listing and subject index for books, journal articles, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association of America and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.
This database provides nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers. It lists every reprint and variant edition of an author's works, including obscure and fugitive appearances in anthologies, broadsides, and gift books. It also includes details on bindings and physical features of the editions. It originally appeared in print in nine volumes, published for the Bibliographical Society of America by Yale University Press between 1955 and 1991. All nine volumes are fully searchable together.
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on all of the more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors New Revision Series. Updated monthly, Contemporary Authors allows users to search for an author by name, title of work, nationality, date and place of birth and death, subject/genre, personal and career information, awards and honors, and more.
TO SEARCH ALONE: UNDER MORE OPTIONS - GO TO PRODUCT/SERIES - SELECT ONLY TITLE
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. This literature resourceincludes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series
TO SEARCH ALONE: UNDER MORE OPTIONS - GO TO PRODUCT/SERIES - SELECT ONLY THAT TITLE
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
TO SEARCH ALONE: UNDER MORE OPTIONS - GO TO PRODUCT/SERIES - SELECT ONLY LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER
This database provides page images of the print Something About the Author series and Something About the Author Autobiography series. It examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators of children and young adult literature. It contains more than 12,000 entries that include autobiographies, biographies, and obituaries. Entries include personal and career information, writings, adaptations, sidelights, works cited, illustrations of the author and sample illustrations within their books
TO SEARCH THIS SERIES ONLY GO TO PRODUCT/SERIES AND SELECT ONLY THIS TITLE
Scribner Writers Series provides original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author and their works in personal and historical context.
TO SEARCH ALONE: UNDER MORE OPTIONS - GO TO PRODUCT/SERIES - SELECT ONLY SCRIBNER WRITERS
Twayne's Authors is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.
TO SEARCH ALONE: UNDER MORE OPTIONS - GO TO PRODUCT/SERIES - SELECT ONLY TWAYNE'S AUTHOR
Use Search@XU to search multiple research databases for scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and much more.