It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources: English and Literature: General English and Literature Research
Scroll through the research database descriptions below to choose the one that best fits your topic, project, and/or research need. For general English and literature research, start with MLA International Bibliography or Search@XU.
Provides a classified listing and subject index for books, journal articles, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association of America and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.
Essay and General Literature Index, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, is a unique reference database that cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 320 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually with more than 20 selected annuals and serial publications.
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
TO SEARCH ALONE: UNDER MORE OPTIONS - GO TO PRODUCT/SERIES - SELECT ONLY LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER
This database provides access to more than 1,500 electronic reference books and their individual book chapters covering the arts, biography, business, education, health, history, law, literature, multicultural studies, the nation and the world, science, and social science. There is unlimited, simultaneous usage and no special readers or equipment are required to use this resource. Users can search for keywords in the chapter title or throughout the full-text of a chapter. Book chapters can be downloaded, emailed or printed, as well as translated into eight languages. No reader is required to use these electronic books.
This database includes more than 240 entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Users can search by keywords or browse specific entries (sources), topics, or names through the table of contents
This databases is an expanded and updated version of Literary Reference Center. This comprehensive literary reference database provides a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. It combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, and hundreds of literary journals, as well as multimedia. Search results can be limited to literary criticism or Masterplots. Users can browse most studied authors and works and view book highlights and the author in focus. Features include a glossary and historical timeline.
This database lists over 4,400 periodicals in the areas of literature, covered in the MLA International Bibliography. It provides print and electronic availability, contact information, subscription information, advertising rates, publishing information (scope and subjects covered), and information about submissions for publication. It is produced by the Modern Language Association of America and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.
This database includes about 31,000 plays published individually or in collections. It provides classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights. It covers new editions and translations, and includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements. It includes one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama, and over 600 monologues from playwrights such as Shakespeare, Aeschylus, Euripides, Moliere, and more.
This database provides detailed indexing for more than 117,000 short stories from more than 4,200 collections and anthologies. It also provides the full-text for nearly 5,000 short stories. Users can find stories by keyword, author, title, date, subject, genre, source, literary technique, theme, locale, narrative technique, or literary figure. It is produced by H. W. Wilson