It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spanish Languages Resources: News, Film, Books, Databases, etc..: Spanish Language Films
This database contains more than 5,500 educational films and 60,000 film segments that are available online in streaming video format. The videos cover a broad range of topics including art, business, social sciences, education, health, medicine, history, physical sciences, philosophy, religion, performing arts, English, language arts, geography, and psychology. Special collections represented include ABC, CBC, CNBC, NOVA, PBS, TED, NBC, BBC, California Newsreel, Film Ideas, Film Movement, Nightline, Scientific American Frontiers, Meridian, National Geographic, Frontline, National History Channel, American Experience, and more.
Also included are archival films and newsreels. Each film has a description, a list of the film's segments with a brief description and links to the exact location in the film, a transcript which can be printed, links to related films in the collection, the ability to email and embed the video, and how to cite the video in MLA, APA, and Chicago citation styles. The entire film as well as the film's individual segments have stable links that can be embedded in course management systems
If you do an Advanced Search you can limit by Language.
Xavier McDonald Library
Search the XPLOREonline catalog to find books, e-books, and media located at Xavier.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
For Technical Help:
If you browse by Subject - Go to World Cinema - Spanish Language Films
Educational Films and Documentaries
Educational Films and Documentaries - DISCONTINUED 1/2021
Resource discontinued 1/2021. To locate documentaries for streaming, we recommend the library databases "Films on Demand" and "Kanopy."