LibGuides: Spanish and Latin American Resources: News, Film, Books, Databases, etc..: Country Profiles

Country Profile Information

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Legal research provides federal and state cases, Shepard's citations (how to Shepardize), federal and state codes, tax law, Canadian court cases and legislation, law reviews, and patents.
Passport This link opens in a new window
This database includes 8 million exportable business statistics, about 18,000 reports, research on more than 200 national markets, emerging trends, and easy to use powerful data analysis functions. It permits industry, country, and consumer group searches. Advanced searching allows users to select a company or brand and then limit by packaging and package closure. It also includes spotlights and latest research. It is compiled by and the user interface is provided by Euromonitor International.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business databases offering the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. It includes in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, most of them in full-text. Users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.

Amnesty International
Amnesty International works to promote all the human rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international standards. The Amnesty International site documents human rights violations in 150 countries and territories.
BBC News Country Reports
History, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Includes audio and video clips from BBC archives.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Country Reports on Human Rights Access (US State Department)
Reports submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress. The reports cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is best known for its annual publication World Report, which characterizes human rights in over 90 countries and territories.
World Bank Countries
The World Bank Group works in more than 170 countries, working with partners in the public and private sectors in their efforts to end poverty and tackle some of the most pressing development challenges.