LibGuides: Library Resources: Art: Art Careers

ARTS 441 Fall 2022 career resources worksheet

Databases

Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window
1984-present; much full-text

This database provides indexing and abstracts from 1984-present for 393 journals and full-text from 1990-present for 360 journals. It covers trade and industry related periodicals for high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

Chronicle of Higher Education (Publication)
Full Text: 01/08/1999 to present (with a 30 Day delay)

Websites

Arts and Design Occupations | Occupational Outlook Handbook
Up-to-date job titles, summaries, entry-level education requirements, and median pay for a wide variety of art and design careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information for more than 300 occupational profiles covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy. Created and maintained by the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is a Federal government agency.
Arts, Audio/Video Technology & Communications Career Cluster | O*Net
Career Clusters contain occupations in the same field of work that require similar skills. Students, parents, and educators can use Career Clusters to help focus education plans towards obtaining the necessary knowledge, competencies, and training for success in a particular career pathway.
O*Net Online
O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, developers, researchers, and more! Find, search, or browse across 900+ occupations based on your goals and needs. Then use comprehensive reports to learn about requirements, characteristics, and available opportunities for your selected occupation. O*NET OnLine is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment & Training Administration.

The Art Career Project
The Art Career Project is the result of years of ongoing research into what artists need to know about how to build long-term careers. They have taken their findings, along with advice from hundreds of working artists, and built career profiles covering hundreds of creative careers. Every profile includes information on important skills and qualifications, education requirements, training options, income potential, and job outlook.
Arts, Media & Communications Careers | CLIMB
Explore careers paths, job descriptions, salaries and outlooks, job requirements, skills, work environments, trends, and similar jobs.
Major and Career Exploration | Xavier University's Career Development Office
A resource to assist students through their major and career decision-making process as well as their transition to professional life.
Job Seekers | CHPL
An example of a public library's job and careers sources. The CHPL offers free access to online services that provide expert assistance with every step in the job search process. All you need is a library card.

PRO-TIP: when looking for jobs in other cities, check out the city's public library. Chances are they will have curated resources specific to the area/state that will make your job search easier!

EBSCO Pro-Tips

Create a Personal Account in EBSCO

Whenever you sign in to any of these interfaces, you will be able to save search results, persistent links to searches, search alerts, journal alerts, and web pages to your personal MyEBSCO folder. Access step-by-step directions: https://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=17

Setting Up a Journal Alert

Journal Alerts save valuable research time, and can be set up to provide automatic e-mail notification whenever a new issue of a particular journal becomes available in the EBSCO interface you are using. Access step-by-step directions: https://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=1165

Watch a tutorial: https://youtu.be/Ye31Fa_Lzxk