It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources: History: Newspapers and Serials
Full-text access to thousands of digitized and born-digital issues of Catholic news sources. Search by keyword, names, events and places. Browse by years, titles and dioceses. This collection contains 10,971 issues comprising 254,941 pages.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
1984-present; updated daily; some full-text; tutorials
Newspaper SourceThis database provides indexing and abstracts for 4 national newspapers; selected full-text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, 9 newspaper columns; and cover-to-cover full text for Christian Science Monitor and Los Angeles Times.
1851-within four years of the present; all full-text; updated annually
This database contains full-page and article images of every page of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF. It includes ads, comics, cartoons, photos, maps and other graphics
As compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.
UKPress Online - CANCELLED 12/2020
The library no longer subscribes to this resource.
Choose a serial publication (magazine, journal) based on your research topic:
The fifty thematic subsets from AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Ebsco provides digital access.
1. Advertising Periodicals, 1815-1888
2. Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern US, 1789-1879
3. Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western US, 1800-1878
4. Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878
5. Alternative Medicine and Health Periodicals, 1810-1877
6. American Civil War Periodicals, 1855-1868
7. American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1834
8. American Literary Periodicals, 1835-1858
9. American Literary Periodicals, 1859-1891
10. American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877
11. American Political and Social Movements Periodicals, 1815-1884
12. American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891
13. Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881
14. Business and General Education Periodicals, 1800-1885
15. Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1858
16. Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1859-1870
17. Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1871-1901
18. Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877
19. Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals, 1797-1904
20. College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877
21. Commercial Periodicals from the Southern US, 1811-1877
22. Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902
23. Cultural Periodicals from the Southern US, 1797-1877
24. Current Events and History Periodicals, 1691-1912
25. Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts Periodicals, 1764-1877
26. Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895
27. Fireside Companions and Family Literature Periodicals, 1805-1877
28. Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904
29. General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889
30. Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889
31. Literary Periodicals of New England, 1789-1878
32. Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877
33. Military and Law Enforcement Periodicals, 1691-1877
34. Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
35. Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879
36. Periodicals from Around the World, 1691-1880
37. Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881
38. Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879
39. Popular Educational Periodicals, 1758-1889
40. Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878
41. Religious Periodicals from the Southern US, 1801-1904
42. Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901
43. Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887
44. Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877
45. Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885
46. Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877
47. Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877
48. Women’s Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844
49. Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865
50. Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 (1691-1820)The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2 (1821-1837)The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring about 6500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 (1838-1852)The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 (1853-1865)The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 (1866-1877)The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. Series 5 is the fifth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineThis database includes:
Over 136,000 titles (155,000 volumes)
Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue
Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere
Primarily in English - also includes other languages, provided by Gale publishing
American Periodicals (1740 - 1940)Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. This database covers the development of American culture, politics and society across 150 years.
It is arranged in three series: 1740 to 1800, the period of transition from British colony to emerging nation; 1800 to 1850, pre-Civil War and the era of debate over slavery; and 1850 to 1900, Civil War and Reconstruction. It covers 1,100 historic American journals including Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, Independent Reflector, Medical Repository, Liberator, North American Review, Harper's Bazar, Vanity Fair, and Ladies Home Journal.
HarpWeekThis database contains the complete content of Harper's Weekly from its beginning. It covers the American Civil War and the end of Reconstruction. Covers 1857-1877