The fifty thematic subsets from AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Ebsco provides digital access.
1. Advertising Periodicals, 1815-1888
2. Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern US, 1789-1879
3. Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western US, 1800-1878
4. Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878
5. Alternative Medicine and Health Periodicals, 1810-1877
6. American Civil War Periodicals, 1855-1868
7. American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1834
8. American Literary Periodicals, 1835-1858
9. American Literary Periodicals, 1859-1891
10. American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877
11. American Political and Social Movements Periodicals, 1815-1884
12. American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891
13. Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881
14. Business and General Education Periodicals, 1800-1885
15. Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1858
16. Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1859-1870
17. Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1871-1901
18. Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877
19. Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals, 1797-1904
20. College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877
21. Commercial Periodicals from the Southern US, 1811-1877
22. Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902
23. Cultural Periodicals from the Southern US, 1797-1877
24. Current Events and History Periodicals, 1691-1912
25. Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts Periodicals, 1764-1877
26. Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895
27. Fireside Companions and Family Literature Periodicals, 1805-1877
28. Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904
29. General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889
30. Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889
31. Literary Periodicals of New England, 1789-1878
32. Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877
33. Military and Law Enforcement Periodicals, 1691-1877
34. Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
35. Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879
36. Periodicals from Around the World, 1691-1880
37. Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881
38. Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879
39. Popular Educational Periodicals, 1758-1889
40. Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878
41. Religious Periodicals from the Southern US, 1801-1904
42. Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901
43. Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887
44. Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877
45. Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885
46. Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877
47. Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877
48. Women’s Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844
49. Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865
50. Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring about 6500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
EEBO now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700. From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection contains more than 130,000 titles and more than 17 million scanned pages as listed in 4 collections - Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. EEBO covers more than 30 languages from Algonquin to Welsh, and variant editions and multiple copies.
This unique collection of documents brings to life American History from the times of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American history. Its quantity and quality offers a wonderful overview of American history alongside some deep research strands. It is divided into two modules: Module 1 Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859 and Module 2 Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945.
As compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
A collection of 1,200 books and anthologies of early American poetry providing access to 40,000 poems of American writers from the 17th to the early 20th century. This database contains the works of all major American poets, including Emily Dickinson, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman, and John Greenleaf Whittier. It also covers many less familiar names.
An eminent editorial advisory board selected the authors and editions for inclusion in American Poetry. It used as its principal bibliographic source, the Bibliography of American Literature, Yale University Press, 1955-1991, and supplemented this with additional poets to provide a more thorough and rounded collection. The complete text of each poem is included. Any accompanying text written by the original author and forming an integral part of the work, such as notes, dedications, and prefaces to individual poems, is also generally included.
Rabbi Isaac Mayer Wise (1819-1900) was the leading organizational genius behind the rise of American Reform Judaism in the late 19th century. He played a central role in the founding of three major Reform Jewish institutions that still exist today: The Union of American Hebrew Congregations [1873], now the Union for Reform Judaism, the parent body of Reform synagogues; the Hebrew Union College [1875], the Reform movement's rabbinical seminary; and the Central Conference of American Rabbis [1889], the Reform rabbinical association.
This digital archive is a freely accessible comprehensive electronic edition of Rabbi Wise's correspondence and extensive published writings. Consisting of approximately 3,300 items captured in nearly 20,000 digital images, the collection documents the life and work of the architect of Reform Judaism in America.
The CRRA is a collaborative effort initiated by eight Catholic colleges and universities to share their resources electronically with librarians, archivists, researchers, scholars, and the general public, all who are interested in the Catholic experience. The mission of the CRRA is to provide enduring global access to Catholic research resources. Our immediate focus is creating access to those rare, unique and uncommon research materials relating to every aspect of the Catholic experience, which are held by college, university, and seminary libraries and archives in North America.
