Black History Month, celebrated in February, pays tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society and remembers the important people and events in the history of the African diaspora.
The logo is executed in red, black, and green, three of four colors that represent Black History Month. Red represents blood without which freedom cannot be achieved. Black represents the color of the race, and green is symbolic of vegetation.
In support of Xavier University's commitment to antiracism and to strengthen the library's equity, diversity and inclusion collections, the University Library is pleased to announce the purchase of three distinct e-book collections; Antiracist Reading, Social Justice, and Community Policing. Collectively, there are more than 170 titles with 61% available to simultaneous users and 91% having been published since 2017.
The Antiracist Reading collection focuses on works by authors of color and highlights nonfiction and memoir titles exploring issues of race in America.
The Social Justice collection is interdisciplinary and covers topics such as advocacy, discrimination, civil rights, human rights, environmental justice, social ethics and social change.
The Community Policing collection examines the history and present challenges of police forces in the U.S. and around the world.”
CPDP takes records of police interactions with the public – records that would otherwise be buried in internal databases – and opens them up to make the data useful to the public, creating a permanent record for every CPD police officer.
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students. An excellent source for charts and graphs that can be used in a speech.
This historical database is available to the Xavier community as a temporary trial during the COVID-19 crisis.