Transfer or Save EBSCO Content

Save Custom Folder Content

Custom folders have two types of content: searches and articles. This content will not migrate to the new EBSCO platform. However, you can move content to the Saved Searches and Saved Articles folders, which will migrate automatically. Transfer or save your custom content by 8/4/25.

How find your Custom Folders

1. Go to the library's old search (Search@XU). This is the last remaining "classic" EBSCO platform.

2. Click on Sign In in the top right corner of the webpage. Log into your MyEBSCO account.

3. Click on Folder in the top right corner of the webpage to navigate to your saved content and folders.

4. Find your Custom Folders in the list of folders on the left-hand side of the webpage. Click on the + next to a folder to show the types of content in the folder.

How to Transfer Custom Saved Searches

Video instructions also available.

1. To log into your MyEBSCO account and find your custom folders, follow the above instructions on How find your Custom Folders

2. Click on Saved Searches.

3. Click the checkbox next to the saved search(es) you wish to move or copy.

4. Click Move To.

5. Click My Folder. This will delete the search from your custom folder and move it to My Folder. 

6. Repeat steps #2-5 to transfer searches for each custom folder that contains searches.

7. Your saved search will now sync to the new EBSCO platform. To find the transferred searches, access any of Xavier's EBSCO databases, sign in to your MyEBSCO account, navigate to My Dashboard on the left-hand side of the webpage, click on Saved, and click on Searches.

How to Transfer or Save Articles & eBooks

1. To log into your MyEBSCO account and find your custom folders, follow the above instructions on How find your Custom Folders

2. There are two options for the articles & eBooks in your custom folders. Please decide which option best fits your needs:

• Transfer items to the new EBSCO interface by adding them to your My Folder. This will transfer articles but will NOT save them in a separate folder, so the items will be mixed with any other content in the My Folder.
• Export a list of item citations to email, print, save to your computer, or save to Zotero. This will keep the citations grouped in your folders, but you'll have to search for each article individually to access them.

Transfer to New EBSCO Platform:

3. Click on Articles or eBooks.

4. Click the checkbox next to Select all or select individual individual records by clicking the checkbox next to each title.

5. Click Copy To. (Note: Selecting "Move To" instead of "Copy To" will delete items from your custom folder.)

6. Click My Folder. This will copy the items into your My Folder.

7. Repeat steps #3-6 to transfer all articles and eBooks in each custom folder. 

Export List of Citations:

Video instructions also available.

3. Click on Articles or eBooks.

4. Click the checkbox next to Select all or select individual individual records by clicking the checkbox next to each title.

5. Select your desired export method on the right-hand side of the webpage.

• Print will allow you to print your item citations or save your citations as a PDF.
• E-mail will send an email with your item citations.
• Save as File will save a copy of your item citations to your computer with hyperlinks to the articles.
• Export will allow you to export the item citations. Export options include RIS for Zotero/EndNote/etc., as well as CSV (Excel) and other options.

6. Repeat steps #3-6 to transfer all articles and eBooks in each custom folder. 

Search and Journal Alerts

There are two types of alerts: Search Alerts and Journal Alerts. These alerts will not migrate to the new EBSCO platform. You will need to create new alerts on the new EBSCO platform. Alerts in the classic EBSCO platform will cease after 8/4/25.

How find your Current Search and Journal Alerts

1. Go to the library's old search (Search@XU). This is the last remaining "classic" EBSCO platform.

2. Click on Sign In in the top right corner of the webpage. Log into your MyEBSCO account.

3. Click on Folder in the top right corner of the webpage to navigate to your saved content and folders.

4. Find your Search Alerts and Journal Alerts in the My Folders list on the left-hand side of the webpage. Click on Search Alert or Journal Alerts to see a list of your alerts.

5. Search Alerts Only: To view the full search parameters of a Search Alert:

• Click Search Alerts.
• Under one of your alerts, click Retrieve Alert.

• This routes you to the Search History/Alerts page. The top search in the list contains the search terms, limiters, etc. for the search.
• You can use these parameters to recreate the search.

Create New Search Alerts in the New EBSCO Platform

Video instructions also available.

1. Navigate to any of Xavier's EBSCO databases. These databases use the new EBSCO platform.

2. Click on MyEBSCO in the top right corner of the webpage, and click Sign in to MyEBSCO. Log into your MyEBSCO account.

3. Use the search bar(s) to enter your keywords. Use the filters and other search options to limit your search as desired.

4. If applicable, click Searching: Database Name to add or edit databases to search.

5. Click Search.

6. Click the three vertical dots at the top of the results list.

7. Click Create Alert.

8. Finish creating your search alert by editing the alert name and description (if desired), setting the alert frequency, reviewing the alert and notification settings, and checking your email address.

9. Click Create Alert. You will now start receiving email notifications for results that match the parameters of your search alert.

10. You can now find and manage in the Alerts tab. Navigate to My Dashboard on the left-hand side of the page and click Alerts. The Alerts tab defaults to show Journal Alerts; click Search alerts to view your Search Alerts.

11. To edit, view results, or delete your Search Alert, click on the three vertical dots to the right of your search, and select the appropriate option.

Create Journal Alerts in the New EBSCO Platform

Video instructions also available.

1. Navigate to any of Xavier's EBSCO databases. These databases use the new EBSCO platform.

2. Click on MyEBSCO in the top right corner of the webpage, and click Sign in to MyEBSCO. Log into your MyEBSCO account.

3. Click Publications, located beneath the search boxes.

4. Use the dropdown menu to select a database to search. The final alert will run against all databases, so this will not limit your alert.

5. Click the "Search for publications in database name -- Publications" field. 

6. Type in the name of your publication. Click the magnifying glass or press Enter on your keyboard to search for the journal.

7. Click the journal title in the search results. This will route you to the journal's record in EBSCO.

8. Click on the three vertical dots located to the right of the journal title.

9. Click Create alert. You will now start receiving email notifications for new issues and articles of this journal.

10. Finish creating your journal alert by editing the alert name and description (if desired), reviewing the alert notification settings, and checking your email address.

11. Click Create Alert.

10. You can now find and manage in the Alerts tab. Navigate to My Dashboard on the left-hand side of the page and click Alerts. The Alerts tab defaults to show Journal Alerts.

11. To edit, view results, or delete your Journal Alert, click on the three vertical dots to the right of your journal title, and select the appropriate option.

Download List of Saved and Custom Content

To create a list of your Saved and Custom EBSCO content, follow these instructions from EBSCO or watch this video. This will download a CSV file that lists all of your Saved and Custom content, but it will not transfer your content to the new EBSCO platform.

To log into your new MyEBSCO account, use any of Xavier's EBSCO databases.

This list is available through 12/31/25.