Search the XPLORE online catalog to find books, e-books, and media located at Xavier.
Search the OhioLINK online catalog to find books and media in Ohio's academic libraries. These materials can be requested online and sent to Xavier for you to pick up at the Connection Center on the 3rd floor of the CLC.
Search SearchOhio to find books and media in Ohio's public libraries. These materials can be requested and sent to Xavier for pick up at the Connection Center on the 3rd floor of the CLC.
Analytical Corporate Finance by Angelo CorelliThis book draws readers' attention to the financial aspects of daily life at a corporation by combining a robust mathematical setting and the explanation and derivation of the most popular models of the firm. Intended for third-year undergraduate students of business finance, quantitative finance, and financial mathematics, as well as first-year postgraduate students, it is based on the twin pillars of theory and analytics, which merge in a way that makes it easy for students to understand the exact meaning of the concepts and their representation and applicability in real-world contexts. Examples are given throughout the chapters in order to clarify the most intricate aspects; where needed, there are appendices at the end of chapters, offering additional mathematical insights into specific topics. Due to the recent growth in knowledge demand in the private sector, practitioners can also profit from the book as a bridge-builder between university and industry. Lastly, the book provides useful information for managers who want to deepen their understanding of risk management and come to recognize what may have been lacking in their own systems.
Publication Date: 2018-06-12
Ecological, Societal, and Technological Risks and the Financial Sector by Thomas Walker (Editor); Dieter Gramlich (Editor); Mohammad Bitar (Editor); Pedram Fardnia (Editor)Today's financial sector faces multiple challenges stemming from ecological, societal, and technological risks such as climate change, political extremism, and cyber-attacks. However, these non-traditional risks are yet to be fully identified and measured, in order to ensure their successful management. This edited collection sheds light on the topic by examining the unique measurement and modelling challenges associated with each of these risks, and their interaction with finance. Offering a comprehensive analysis of non-traditional finance risks, the authors provide the basis for developing appropriate risk management techniques. With new approaches to protect against emerging threats to the financial sector, this edited collection will appeal to academics researching sustainability, development finance, and risk management, as well as policy-makers and practitioners within the banking sector.
Publication Date: 2020-06-11
Financial Intelligence by Karen Berman; Joe Knight; John Case (As told to)The book Inc. magazine calls one of "the best, clearest guides to the numbers" on the market. Inc. magazine calls it one of "the best, clearest guides to the numbers" on the market. Readers agree, saying it's exactly "what I need to know" and calling it a "must-read" for decision makers without expertise in finance. Since its release in 2006, Financial Intelligence has become a favorite among managers who need a guided tour through the numbers--helping them to understand not only what the numbers really mean, but also why they matter. This new, completely updated edition brings the numbers up to date and continues to teach the basics of finance to managers who need to use financial data to drive their business. It also addresses issues that have become even more important in recent years--including questions around the financial crisis and those around broader financial and accounting literacy. Accessible, jargon-free, and filled with entertaining stories of real companies, Financial Intelligence gives nonfinancial managers the confidence to understand the nuance beyond the numbers--to help bring everyday work to a new level.
Publication Date: 2013-02-19
HBR Guide to Finance Basics for Managers by Harvard Business Review StaffDON'T LET YOUR FEAR OF FINANCE GET IN THE WAY OF YOUR SUCCESS Can you prepare a breakeven analysis? Do you know the difference between an income statement and a balance sheet? Or understand why a business that's profitable can still go belly-up? Has your grasp of your company's numbers helped--or hurt--your career? Whether you're new to finance or you just need a refresher, this go-to guide will give you the tools and confidence you need to master the fundamentals, as all good managers must. The HBR Guide to Finance Basics for Managers will help you: Learn the language of finance Compare your firm's financials with rivals' Shift your team's focus from revenues to profits Assess your vulnerability to industry downturns Use financial data to defend budget requests Invest smartly through cost/benefit analysis
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
How Finance Works by Mihir A. DesaiBased on a popular class taught by a Harvard Business School professor. If you're not a numbers person, then finance can be intimidating and easy to ignore. But if you want to advance in your career, you'll need to make smart financial decisions and develop the confidence to clearly communicate those decisions to others. In How Finance Works, Mihir Desai--a professor at Harvard Business School and author of The Wisdom of Finance--guides you into the complex but endlessly fascinating world of finance, demystifying it in the process. Through entertaining case studies, interactive exercises, full-color visuals, and a conversational style that belies the topic, Professor Desai tackles a broad range of topics that will give you the knowledge and skills you need to finally understand how finance works. These include: How different financial levers can affect a company's performance The different ways in which companies fund their operations and investments Why finance is more concerned with cash flow than profits How value is created, measured, and maximized The importance of capital markets in helping companies grow Whether you're a student or a manager, an aspiring CFO or an entrepreneur, How Finance Works is the colorful and interactive guide you need to help you start thinking more deeply about the numbers.
Publication Date: 2019-04-23
Innovations in Social Finance by Thomas Walker (Editor); Jane McGaughey (Editor); Sherif Goubran (Editor); Nadra Wagdy (Editor)Our world is experiencing increasingly complex social and environmental challenges. The prevailing business models and, to some extent, capitalism per se, are frequently blamed for these problems due to their neglect of social and environmental values in favour of financial returns. Within this context, social finance has attracted the attention of governments, organizations, entrepreneurs, and researchers as a means of mobilizing resources and innovation with the goal of establishing effective long-term solutions. This edited collection summarizes, discusses, and analyzes new innovative trends in social finance. It features contributions that aim to highlight emerging trends (products, tools, and processes) in social finance, present a series of case studies related to the development, deployment, and scaling of social finance innovations, offer an understanding of how non-economic externalities are being incorporated, managed, and assessed in recent innovations, reveal the disruptive potential of social finance innovations by analyzing how they are redefining mainstream finance, analyze the scales - of operation and impact - of different innovations, and explore the complex relationship between social finance and social innovation. Featuring contributions from both the research and practitioner community as well as policy actors, the book provides more than a snapshot of the current social finance field by specifically highlighting the major challenges and difficulties that require the urgent attention of policymakers and social entrepreneurs.
Publication Date: 2021-07-30
A Manager's Guide to Financial Analysis by ShermanFinancial analysis is the key to smarter business decisions. It helps companies chart the best course of action—whether identifying operational improvements, evaluating investment choices, or preparing for an acquisition. Covering in-depth financial statement analysis, ratio analysis, asset management, capital structure, and more, this comprehensive course gives students the tools they need to crunch the numbers, focusing on prediction rather than reporting. Students will learn how to: • Connect a company's past experience to future expectations • Apply the right analytical techniques to problems or decisions • Identify and explain deviations from anticipated results • Make needed adjustments to financial statements, taking into account current values, off-balance-sheet financing, and unrecognized items • Use financial ratios to analyze trends, identify issues, and compare results to the competition and the industry as a whole • Evaluate capital investments using net present value, internal rate of return, profitability index, and other methods • Manage current assets including cash, credit and collections, and inventory • Build a robust financial forecast • Determine a company's optimal capital structure and debt policy • Measure the financial impact of a merger or acquisition Now completely revised, the sixth edition of A Manager's Guide to Financial Analysis includes a chapter on forecasting and valuation; sections on alternative asset management, liability and equity; guidance on analyzing return on equity (ROE) using DuPont Analysis; coverage of total asset turnover; updated information on stock repurchases; a glossary of key terms; as well as exercises and review questions throughout to help increase comprehension and reinforce new skills.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Reframing Finance by Ashby Monk; Rajiv Sharma; Duncan L. SinclairSince the 2008 financial crisis, beneficiary organizations--like pension funds, sovereign wealth funds, endowments, and foundations--have been seeking ways to mitigate the risk of their investments and make better financial decisions. For them, Reframing Finance offers a path forward. This book argues that institutional investors would better serve their long-term goals by putting money into large-scale, future-facing projects such as infrastructure, green energy, innovation in agriculture, and real estate development. At the same time, redirecting long-term investments would close significant financial gaps that government cannot. Drawing on key contributions in economic sociology, social network theory, and economics, the book conceptualizes a collaborative model of investment that is already becoming increasingly common: Large investors contribute more directly to private market assets, while financial intermediaries seek to foster co-investment partnerships, better aligning incentives for all. A combination of rich case studies and rigorous theory enables asset owners to move toward more efficient, private-market investing, while also laying groundwork for research at the frontier of finance.
Publication Date: 2017-08-08
Terms of Trade by Alan V. DeardorffHave you ever wondered what a term in international economics means? This useful reference book offers a glossary of terms in both international trade and international finance, with emphasis on economic issues. It is intended for students getting their first exposure to international economics, although advanced students will also find it useful for some of the more obscure terms that they have forgotten or never encountered.Besides an extensive glossary of terms that has been expanded about 50% from the first edition, there is a picture gallery of diagrams used to explain key concepts such as the Edgeworth Production Box and the Offer Curve Diagram in international economics. This section is followed by over 30 lists of terms that occur a lot in international economics, grouped by subject to help users find terms that they cannot recall.Prior to an enlarged bibliography is an expanded section on the origins of terms in international economics, which records what the author has been able to learn about the origins of some of the terms used in international economics. This is a must-have portable glossary in international trade and international economics!