It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources: Theatre: Scholarly Articles
This Libguide contains information about resources available through the Xavier Library that will help in you in doing research in your Theatre classes
Originally created by Bloomsbury Publishing Plc and Faber and Faber, the Core Collection currently includes over 1,700 playtexts from Methuen Drama, The Arden Shakespeare, and Faber and Faber. The platform also includes 700 images from the Victoria and Albert Museum and American Shakespeare Centre.
From the works of Aeschylus in 5th Century BC to the present day, Drama Online provides unique access to the finest drama literature. Titles include the most highly regarded scholarly editions of Shakespeare—The Arden Shakespeare Series—as well as works from Henrik Ibsen, Bertolt Brecht, Harold Pinter, Oscar Wilde, Caryl Churchill, Simon Stephens, David Mamet and Katori Hall. The collection is continually updated with the very latest writing from new and established writers.
For Xavier University Users, any content with a yellow lock is not available.
This database includes about 31,000 plays published individually or in collections. It provides classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights. It covers new editions and translations, and includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements. It includes one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama, and over 600 monologues from playwrights such as Shakespeare, Aeschylus, Euripides, Moliere, and more.
Help Getting Books, Media, & Copies of Articles
For help getting books, media, and copies of articles follow the links below: