Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Map

Library Resources: Music: University Archives and Special Collections

This Libguide contains information about resources available through the Xavier Library that will help in you in doing research in your Music classes

 

 

University Archives and Special Collections

University Archives and Special Collections are housed together on the third floor of the McDonald Library.

University Archives collects and preserves the records of Xavier University and its associated faculty, staff, and students. These materials reflect the rich educational, historical, religious, and cultural heritage of Xavier University. 

Special Collections contains an array of rare books and manuscripts covering subjects such as theology, philosophy, classics, biology, and history. Strengths of collection include Jesuitica, Catholic liturgy and life in America, travel and exploration, and bibles. The earliest work is a 13th century manuscript bible. Other valuable items include Jacobus de Voragine's Legenda Aurea, Ferdinand Verbiest's Liber organicus astronomiæ apud sinas restitutæ, and a 15th century handwritten Spanish antiphonary.

University Archives and Special Collections is open to faculty, staff, student, and community researchers by appointment.