Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Search@XU to search multiple research databases for scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and much more.
Use the interlibrary loan system to request articles that Xavier does not have access to.
Choose a research database from the recommended list below based on the topic of your paper/project or the class you are in. Other databases are available through the library database list.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Donald M. Borchert, ed. 2nded. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. 7799 pp. 10 vols.
English-language reference source for philosophy," has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia's articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
This database is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. It is considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The database covers the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. It contains research published in nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts from 1984-present for 301 journals, many peer-reviewed, and full-text from 1990-present for 290 journals. It covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
This database is a dynamic online dictionary that satifies the highest academic standards. Entries are created and updated by an expert or group of experts in the field. Users can browse an A-Z list of entries or can search by keyword, title or author. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by the Metaphysics Research Lab, Center for the Study of Language and Information, Stanford University.
L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
1924-Current; limited to 10 simultaneous users
This specialized bibliographic database contains scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. With over 810,000 records, this database includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. It is Also known as the Database of Classical Bibliography. It is published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, the American Philological Association and the Database of Classical Bibliography with support from the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France) and the National Endowment for Humanities (USA).