Library Resources: Health Services Administration: Government Agencies

Promotes the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals, and communities through a range of programs.

Resources on the unique needs of older Americans and people with disabilities across the lifespan.

The focus is to make health care safer, of higher quality and more accessible.

Serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.

Provides NIH users and external collaborators with information technology (IT) services and tools.

The portal for NIH grant applications and their review for scientific merit.

Provides a collection of information about potentially hazardous effects of chemicals on human reproduction and development.

Works to protect Americans from health, safety and security threats both foreign and in the US.

Provides high quality, low cost health insurance coverage for all Americans.

Provides funding to perform research and to train researchers in a variety of global health areas.

Responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.

The United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services especially for those who are least able to help themselves.

Improves access to health care by strengthening the health care workforce, building healthy communities and achieving health equity.

Responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives.

The Federal Government's principal agency for cancer research and training.

Advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Investigates the usefulness and safety of complementary and alternative medicine interventions and their roles in improving health and health care.

Compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies that will improve the health of people.

Provides eye health information, education, research, and funding.

Provides research, training and education programs to promote the prevention and treatment of heart, lung and blood diseases.

Developed to map the human genome and apply genome technologies to the study of specific diseases.

Improves health by leading the development and accelerating the application of biomedical technologies.

Conducts and supports basic and applied research to better understand, treat and ultimately prevent infectious, immunologic and allergic diseases.

Supports research into the causes, treatment and prevention of arthritis, musculoskeletal and skin diseases.

Supports investigation and research in human development from preconception to adulthood to better understand developmental and intellectual disabilities.

Improves oral, dental and craniofacial health through research, research training and the dissemination of health information.

Conducts research in and disseminates information on diabetes, endocrine and metabolic diseases, digestive diseases, nutritional disorders, obesity, and kidney, urologic and hematologic diseases.

Strives to discover how the environment affects people in order to promote healthier lives.

Transforms the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research paving the way for prevention, recovery and cure.

Seeks fundamental knowledge about the brain and nervous system and to use that knowledge to reduce the burden of neurological disease.

Seeks to improve the health and health care of Americans through funding of nursing research and research training.

Dedicated to understanding the nature of aging, supporting the health and well being of older adults, and extending healthy, active years of life for more people.

Supports and conducts research on the impact of alcohol use on human health and well-being.

Conducts and supports research in the normal and disordered processes of hearing, balance, taste, smell, voice, speech, and language.

Supports research across a broad range of disciplines and disseminates information to improve the prevention and treatment of drug abuse and addiction.

Leads scientific research to improve minority health and eliminate health disparities.

The nation’s medical research agency making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.

Maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics.

Provides products and services on a competitive “fee-for-service” basis.

Leads public health efforts to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

Provides mental health/recovery services, prescription drug discounts, health complaints, restaurant inspections, and birth/death records.

Promotes and provides essential health services.

Supports the State's human services and health care programs.

Provides general, legal and statistical information about diseases/conditions affecting people in the State of Ohio.

Basic information about state and local government with links to specific offices, branches, services, boards, commissions, counties, and cities.

Basic information about state and local government with links to specific offices, branches, services, boards, commissions, counties, and cities.

Basic information about state and local government with links to specific offices, branches, services, boards, commissions, counties and cities.