LibGuides: Library Resources: Health Services Administration: Data & Statistics

Library Databases

DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
From population and Census data to housing expenditures, users of DemographicsNow will have access to demographic information including income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, consumer expenditures, businesses and more.

Run an unlimited number of reports in summary, comparison or ranking formats.

Compare statistics from multiple geographies in tabular format for easy analysis.
Summarize demographic information on a single geographic area or group multiple geographies into a single value.
Rank multiple geographies using a single demographic variable
Users may customize the reports by geography, choosing the area that best suits your needs.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.

The library provides access to data from 2017-2021.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
From 1800s-1990s; full-text essays & introductions; downloadable data
This database provides quantitative data on population, work & welfare, economic structure & performance, economic sectors, and governance & international relations. It covers social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade. It permits users to search and download data as well as create customized tables, spreadsheets and graphs.

Websites

Administration for Children & Families
Data and reports highlighting the ACF's various programs and grants that improve the lives of America's most vulnerable children, families, communities, and individuals.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Latest statistical portraits of how health care is delivered in the United States.
American Cancer Society
Facts and figures for cancer in the general and cultural populations.
American Heart Association
Provides a yearly update of heart disease & stroke statistics
American Hospital Association
Facts, reports and studies on US hospitals.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Includes data tools, reports, maps, calculators, as well as statistics by topic.
CensusScope
Provides charts, trends, maps, rankings, and segregation data on selected topics from the latest Census.
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Includes statistics by topic and a list of additional tools and resources.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Data about Medicare & Medicaid.
Global Health Observatory (World Health Organization)
WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation.
HealthData.gov
Dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
Health Resources & Services Administration
Includes data by topic, mapping services, a data warehouse, health center data, customizable reports
Indiana State Department of Health
Provides an A-Z list of reports and statistics on different health topics.
Interact for Health
Reports on health issues affecting people in a 20-county service area surrounding Greater Cincinnati and across the nation.
National Center for Health Statistics (Centers for Disease Control & Prevention)
Provides statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
National Eye Institute
Statistics about blindness, visual impairment, cataracts, glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy, and vision problems in the U.S.
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Researc
Features data by topic (e.g., dental caries, tooth loss) and by population e.g., children, seniors).
Ohio Department of Health
Includes reports in the areas of vital statistics, diseases & conditions, health surveys, community profiles, maternal & child health.
State Health Facts (Kaiser Family Foundation)
Up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data from all 50 states on more than 500 health topics.
State of the States in Developmental Disabilities
Nationwide longitudinal financial and programmatic trends in intellectual and developmental disabilities services
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Provides statistics about substance abuse, drug-related emergency department visits, medical examiner cases, and substance abuse treatment systems.
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program (National Cancer Institute)
A premier source for cancer statistics in the United States.
Trust for America's Health
Provides reports, survey results, state data, and a resource library
U.S. Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau’s interactive map series.
USA.gov
Data about the U.S. such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
US Census Bureau
The leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
WISQARS (Centers for Disease Control & Preventation)
Provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death and cost of injury data.
WONDER (Centers for Disease Control & Prevention)
Provides access to a wide array of public health information.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) This link opens in a new window
This government resource provides fast facts, publications and reports, surveys, and datasets. It is produced by the US Department of Education.
U.S. Political Stats - NOW PART OF DATA PLANET
Please see Data Planet to access this content.