LibGuides: Library Resources: Health Services Administration: Grey Literature

What is Grey Literature?

The Fourth International Conference on Grey Literature (GL '99) in Washington, DC, in October 1999 defined grey literature as follows: "That which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers."

Example of Grey Literature are:

conference papers/conference proceedings
theses & dissertations
clinical trials
newsletters
pamphlets
reports
fact sheets, bulletins
government documents
surveys
interviews
informal communication (e.g. blogs, podcasts, email)

Grey Literature

Agency for HealthCare Research and Quality
Reports that have to do with patient safety and medical errors, health care quality and cost.
Grey Literature Report
Produced by the The New York Academy of Medicine. Alerts readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected urban health topics.
GreyNet International
Dedicated to Research, Publication, Open Access, Education,
and Public Awareness to Grey Literature.
Health Services Research Projects in Progress (HSRProj)
Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes information about ongoing health services research and public health projects.
MedlinePlus Organizations
Contains a list of health sciences organizations by topic and name. Search individual organizations of interest for reports, conference proceedings, newsletters, guidelines, etc.
National Clinical Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE)
Contains guidelines and standards of care in the UK.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A collection of clinical practice guidelines produced in the US.
NIH RePORTER
Provides a listing of biomedical research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
OAIster
A union catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources.
OpenGrey
Open access to bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe.
Trip
A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository
A repository solely dedicated to sharing works created by nurses. It's an open-access digital academic and clinical scholarship service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research and evidence-based practice materials.
World Health Organization (WHO) Publications
Contains reports and guidelines on public and global health topics.