Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
place your mouse above the link to find out more information about these databases
African American Poetry Collection
(1760-1900; all full-text; XLinks; title list) contains almost 3,000 poems written by African-American poets. The poetry explores topics such as abolition, children, civil rights, dreams, education, fugitive slave law, Indian raids, liberty, political issues, prejudice and slavery.
American Poetry Collection
(1600-1900; all full-text; XLinks) is a collection of 1,200 books and anthologies of early American poetry and contains the works of all major American poets, including many that are less familiar.It includes over 40,000 poems by over 200 writers. Any accompanying text written by the original author and forming an integral part of the work, such as notes, dedications, and prefaces to individual poems, is also included.
English Poetry Collection
(600-1900; all full-text; XLinks) contains over 175,000 poems by over 1,400 poets from British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries. It contains over 4,400 poetry collections listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature, many of which are rare books and unavailable in print form. Users can also these works in XPLORE the library's online catalog. Works in English of Welsh, Scottish, and Irish poets are included. It also includes any relevant accompanying text written by the poet.
Poetry Group Collection
all full-text; XLinks) provides searching across six poetry collections: African American Poetry, American Poetry, English Poetry, Twentieth Century African American Poetry, Twentieth Century American Poetry and Twentieth Century English Poetry. It is produced by ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey and the user interface is provided by OhioLINK.
Twentieth Century African American Poetry
(1900-2000; all full-text; XLinks) contains 12,000 poems with biographical profiles of more than 100 African-American poets, including Audre Lorde, Langston Hughes, and Rita Dove, as well as emerging poets.
Twentieth Century American Poetry
(1900-2000; all full-text; XLinks) contains 52,000 poems from collected works and individual volumes of poetry. It covers the works of more than 316 major 20th century American poets, including the traditionalists and modernists.as well as contemporary works of the 1990s. It includes volumes of poetry from all the major movements and schools, including the New School, the Chicago School, the Southern School, the Confessionals, the Beats, and the Black Mountain poets.
Women Writers Online
(1000 BC-present; updated daily; RefWorks help) contains millions of bibliographic records for all material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. It includes books, computer programs, films and slides, journals and magazines, chapters, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes and websites. It also includes Net First and the Union List of Periodicals.
English Department Liaison
Alison Morgan, 745-3931 firstname.lastname@example.org 340 CLC
Favorite poets: Dickinson, e.e. cummings, Robert Frost, James Kavanaugh, and James Baker Hall. Also, the British Romantic poets (Shelley, Byron, Keats, Wordsworth, Coleridge).