Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We have only scratched the surface with LaTeX! The Library offers resources on more advanced formatting topics such as mathematical formulae, tables, and even prepating your book for publication.
LaTeX in 24 Hours by This book presents direct and concise explanations and examples to many LaTeX syntax and structures, allowing students and researchers to quickly understand the basics that are required for writing and preparing book manuscripts, journal articles, reports, presentation slides and academic theses and dissertations for publication. Unlike much of the literature currently available on LaTeX, which takes a more technical stance, focusing on the details of the software itself, this book presents a user-focused guide that is concerned with its application to everyday tasks and scenarios. It is packed with exercises and looks at topics like formatting text, drawing and inserting tables and figures, bibliographies and indexes, equations, slides, and provides valuable explanations to error and warning messages so you can get work done with the least time and effort needed. This means LaTeX in 24 Hours can be used by students and researchers with little or no previous experience with LaTeX to gain quick and noticeable results, as well as being used as a quick reference guide for those more experienced who want to refresh their knowledge on the subject.
Publication Date: 2017-01-20
Practical LaTeX by Practical LaTeX covers the material that is needed for everyday LaTeX documents. This accessible manual is friendly, easy to read, and is designed to be as portable as LaTeX itself. A short chapter, Mission Impossible, introduces LaTeX documents and presentations. Read these 30 pages; you then should be able to compose your own work in LaTeX.nbsp; The remainder of the book delves deeper into the topics outlined in Mission Impossible while avoiding technical subjects. Chapters on presentations and illustrations are a highlight, as is the introduction of LaTeXnbsp; on an iPad. Students, faculty, and professionals in the worlds of mathematics and technology will benefit greatly from this new, practical introduction to LaTeX. George Grätzer, author of More Math into LaTeXnbsp; (now in its 4th edition) and First Steps in LaTeX, has been a LaTeXnbsp; guru for over a quarter of century. From the reviews of More Math into LaTeX: ``There are several LaTeXnbsp; guides, but this one wins hands down for the elegance of its approach and breadth of coverage.'' --Amazon.com, Best of 2000, Editors Choice ``A very helpful and useful tool for all scientists and engineers.'' --Review of Astronomical Tools ``A novice reader will be able to learn the most essential features of LaTeX sufficient to begin typesetting papers within a few hours of time...An experienced TeX user, on the other hand, will find a systematic and detailed discussion of all LaTeX features, supporting software, and many other advanced technical issues.'' --Reports on Mathematical Physics
Publication Date: 2014-08-19
More Math into LaTeX by For over two decades, this comprehensive manual has been the standard introduction and complete reference for writing articles and books containing mathematical formulas. If the reader requires a streamlined approach to learning LaTeX for composing everyday documents, Grätzer's © 2014 Practical LaTeX may also be a good choice. In this carefully revised fifth edition, the Short Course has been brought up to date and reflects a modern and practical approach to LaTeX usage. New chapters have been added on illustrations and how to use LaTeX on an iPad. Key features: An example-based, visual approach and a gentle introduction with the Short Course A detailed exposition of multiline math formulas with a Visual Guide A unified approach to TeX, LaTeX, and the AMS enhancements A quick introduction to creating presentations with formulas From earlier reviews: Grätzer's book is a solution. --European Mathematical Society Newsletter There are several LaTeX guides, but this one wins hands down for the elegance of its approach and breadth of coverage. --Amazon.com, Best of 2000, Editor's choice A novice reader will be able to learn the most essential features of LaTeX sufficient to begin typesetting papers within a few hours of time... An experienced TeX user, on the other hand, will find a systematic and detailed discussion of LaTeX fea tures. --Report on Mathematical Physics A very helpful and useful tool for all scientists and engineers. --Review of Astronomical Tools
Publication Date: 2016-02-15
Guide to LaTeX by Published Nov 25, 2003 by Addison-Wesley Professional. Part of the Tools and Techniques for Computer Typesetting series. The series editor may be contacted firstname.lastname@example.org. LaTeX is the text-preparation system of choice for scientists and academics, and is especially useful for typesetting technical materials. This popular book shows you how to begin using LaTeX to create high-quality documents. The book also serves as a handy reference for all LaTeX users. In this completely revised edition, the authors cover the LaTeX2ε standard and offer more details, examples, exercises, tips, and tricks. They go beyond the core installation to describe the key contributed packages that have become essential to LaTeX processing. Inside, you will find: Complete coverage of LaTeX fundamentals, including how to input text, symbols, and mathematics; how to produce lists and tables; how to include graphics and color; and how to organize and customize documents Discussion of more advanced concepts such as bibliographical databases and BIBTeX, math extensions with AMS-LaTeX, drawing, slides, and letters Helpful appendices on installation, error messages, creating packages, using LaTeX with HTML and XML, and fonts An extensive alphabetized listing of commands and their uses New to this edition: More emphasis on LaTeX as a markup language that separates content and form--consistent with the essence of XML Detailed discussions of contributed packages alongside relevant standard topics In-depth information on PDF output, including extensive coverage of how to use the hyperref package to create links, bookmarks, and active buttons As did the three best-selling editions that preceded it, Guide to LaTeX, Fourth Edition, will prove indispensable to anyone wishing to gain the benefits of LaTeX. The accompanying CD-ROM is part of the TeX Live set distributed by TeX Users Groups, containing a full LaTeX installation for Windows, MacOSX, and Linux, as well as many extensions, including those discussed in the book. 0321173856B10162003
Publication Date: 2003-11-25
LaTex by Packed with fully explained examples, LaTeX Beginner's Guide is a hands-on introduction quickly leading a novice user to professional-quality results. If you are about to write mathematical or scientific papers, seminar handouts, or even plan to write a thesis, then this book offers you a fast-paced and practical introduction. Particularly during studying in school and university you will benefit much, as a mathematician or physicist as well as an engineer or a humanist. Everybody with high expectations who plans to write a paper or a book will be delighted by this stable software.
Publication Date: 2011-03-21
LaTeX A-Z : From Beginner to Advanced in Less Than 3 Hours by
"This course illustrate the essential components required to create a professional quality documents with the LaTeX. LaTeX is frequently used to write thesis, reports, and scientific papers for journals, conferences and making presentations. The essential beauty of LaTeX is that it separates the task of document layout/visual representation from that of the contents of the documents. As a result you pay more attention to the actual contents and are not distracted by the visual appearance. It also automates many of the tedious processes involved in writing a professional publications such as management of references, visual layout and formatting styles. With LaTeX, you will find easy and effective management of references, figures, tables, footnotes, formatting, mathematical equations, algorithms, scientific proofs that have no match compared to the conventional document setting and word processing software."