Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Books from selected academic and commercial publishers as well as the full-text of a large number of older works in the public domain.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference books and specialized encyclopedias.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
This database contains thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
This database is a cross-searchable database of more than 125 quick reference dictionaries and 189 in-depth encyclopedias. It covers general reference as well as specific subject categories: archaeology, art and architecture, bilingual dictionaries, classical studies, encyclopedias, English dictionaries and thesauri, history, language reference, law, linguistics, literature, media studies, medicine and health, music, names studies, performing arts, philosophy, quotations, religion, science and technology, social sciences, and society and culture.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Scholarly books from Oxford University Press.
Books from distinguished university presses and scholarly societies in a wide range of subjects within the humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Ebook Central
A multidisciplinary collection of e-books.
Safari Books Online
This database includes 1,556 technology electronic books covering topics such as artificial intelligence, certification, databases, desktop applications, e-commerce, graphics, IT management, markup languages, multimedia, networking, operating systems, programming, security, and software engineering.
University Press Scholarship Online
Titles from a range of University Presses.
Search the library's catalog (XPLORE) for print and e-books.
Search other academic libraries in Ohio (OhioLINK) for print books not available at Xavier.
Design Thinking for the Greater Good by Facing especially wicked problems, social sector organizations are searching for powerful new methods to understand and address them. Design Thinking for the Greater Good goes in depth on both the how of using new tools and the why. As a way to reframe problems, ideate solutions, and iterate toward better answers, design thinking is already well established in the commercial world. Through ten stories of struggles and successes in fields such as health care, education, agriculture, transportation, social services, and security, the authors show how collaborative creativity can shake up even the most entrenched bureaucracies--and provide a practical roadmap for readers to implement these tools. The design thinkers Jeanne Liedtka, Randy Salzman, and Daisy Azer explore how major agencies like the Department of Health and Human Services and the Transportation and Security Administration in the United States, as well as organizations in Canada, Australia, and the United Kingdom, have instituted principles of design thinking. In each case, these groups have used the tools of design thinking to reduce risk, manage change, use resources more effectively, bridge the communication gap between parties, and manage the competing demands of diverse stakeholders. Along the way, they have improved the quality of their products and enhanced the experiences of those they serve. These strategies are accessible to analytical and creative types alike, and their benefits extend throughout an organization. This book will help today's leaders and thinkers implement these practices in their own pursuit of creative solutions that are both innovative and achievable.
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Filling Execution Gaps by "I expected good, but this is great." -Janet Pirus Phelps, Principle, Strategic CFO, Former CFO Papa Murphy''s Pizza Gaps are holes in your organization where tasks fall and failure breeds. They inhibit your ability to implement strategic plans, lead people, and run successful projects. Daily, executives, middle managers, and project managers wrestle with "the big six": Absence of common understanding Disengaged executive sponsors Misalignment with goals Poor change management Ineffective governance Lackluster leadership Ignoring any of these gaps endangers any strategy or project. They regularly destroy hundreds of companies'' ability to turn their corporate vision into business value--taking careers with them. Filling Execution Gaps addresses the sources of these gaps, and how to fill them. Without any one of these important functions, projects fail. Without change management, adoption suffers. Without common understanding, there is confusion. Without goals, business units, and capabilities aligned, execution falters. Without executive sponsorship, decisions languish. Too little governance allows bad things to happen, while too much governance creates overburdening bureaucracy. Without leadership at all levels of the organization, people are directionless. Using decades of experience, years of research, and interviews with hundreds of business leaders, author of the Amazon #1 Best Seller in Business Project Management, Rescue the Problem Project, Todd Williams illustrates how to fill these gaps, meet corporate goals, and increase value. An excellent review of this book appears here: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/improving-project-execution-filling-gaps-murray-pmp-ms Click below to read an interview with the author: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/filling-organization-gaps-successful-project-part-1-naomi/ https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/filling-organization-gaps-successful-project-part-2-naomi/?published=t Facebook users can access an interview on "Project Management Cafe" here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/projectmanagementcafe/permalink/1975750702698459/ Related blogs can be accessed here: https://www.projectmanager.com/blog/project-execution https://www.strategyex.co.uk/blog/pmoperspectives/strategy-from-the-bottom-up/ Check out his August 27, 2018 interview here: https://www.yegor256.com/shift-m/2018/34.html Click here for articles by the author on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/we-all-lead-todd-williams/ https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/your-inner-leader-task-introspection-todd-williams/ https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/leadership-actions-art-listening-todd-williams https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/leadership-actions-getting-people-talk-todd-williams/ https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/eliminating-blame-todd-williams/ https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/leadership-actions-dialog-discussion-todd-williams/ https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/projects-fail-when-people-dont-know-where-going-todd-williams
Publication Date: 2017-10-23
The Go-Giver by "Most people just laugh when they hear that the secret to success is giving. . . . Then again, most people are nowhere near as successful as they wish they were." The Go-Giver tells the story of an ambitious young man named Joe who yearns for success. Joe is a true go-getter, though sometimes he feels as if the harder and faster he works, the further away his goals seem to be. Desperate to land a key sale at the end of a bad quarter, he seeks advice from the enigmatic Pindar, a legendary consultant referred to by his many devotees simply as the Chairman. Over the next week, Pindar introduces Joe to a series of "go-givers": a restaurateur, a CEO, a financial adviser, a real estate broker, and the "Connector" who brought them all together. Pindar's friends teach Joe the Five Laws of Stratospheric Success and help him open himself up to the power of giving. Joe learns that changing his focus from getting to giving--putting others' interests first and continually adding value to their lives--ultimately leads to unexpected returns. Imparted with wit and grace, The Go-Giver is a classic bestseller that brings to life the old proverb "Give and you shall receive." Nearly a decade since its original publication, the term "go-giver" has become shorthand for a defining set of values embraced by hundreds of thousands of people around the world. Today this timeless story continues to help its readers find fulfillment and greater success in business, in their personal lives and in their communities. This expanded edition includes the text of the original business parable, together with a foreword by Arianna Huffington, a new introduction, a discussion guide, and a Q&A with the authors.
Publication Date: 2015-10-06
On Course by Have you ever had a bad boss? Do you think so many bosses are bad because they're "jerks" or because they just don't know HOW to lead? Bottom line, there are some jerks out there, but Ken Pasch's research shows that most bosses are frustrated because they just don't know how to lead. That frustration leads to some very bad relationships and outcomes. On Course helps begin turn this around. Unlike so many other books that tell professionals what a good leader should be, On Course is the first step in learning how to become a good leader. The revolutionary model business professionals learn is the result of Ken's transition from being one of those bad bosses, years ago, to becoming a successful leader. Don't take Ken's word for it, listen to the testimonials from others. Then, dive into On Course to discover how you, too, can become a great leader and soar!
Publication Date: 2018-02-13
Sustained Leadership WBS by The Sustained Leader WBS provides a comprehensive tool for assessing and improving leadership potential. A Work Breakdown Structure decomposes every part of the work to be done in a project. Through extensive research and surveys the author has identified 229 WBS elements that apply to building yourself into a sustained leader. Each element provides a self-assessment, additional resources, and a place to record personal goals and due dates giving each reader a personal program plan to build themselves into a better leader.
Publication Date: 2017-10-03