Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the databases below to find articles and other resources in newspapers. Newspaper articles can provide information about current events and context during the time in which the books were written. The descriptions below the database titles will help you determine which ones may be the most helpful for you.
Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
1984-present; updated daily; some full-text; tutorials
Newspaper SourceThis database provides indexing and abstracts for 4 national newspapers; selected full-text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, 9 newspaper columns; and cover-to-cover full text for Christian Science Monitor and Los Angeles Times.
New York Times (Online)
New York Times Online offers the same content as the Print edition.
Open to all Xavier Faculty, Staff, and Students
New York Times Historical Database
1851-within four years of the present; all full-text; updated annually
This database contains full-page and article images of every page of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF. It includes ads, comics, cartoons, photos, maps and other graphics
The Times Digital Archive, 1785– 2012 (Gale Primary Sources)
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.
UKPress Online - CANCELLED 12/2020
The library no longer subscribes to this resource.